Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Civil 3D. Help with points from survey

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
RJK42
273 Views, 6 Replies

New to Civil 3D. Help with points from survey

Hello!!

I'm new to the AutoCAD Civil 3D and I just did a survey that consists of about 60 points.  The points are in Excel and I'm able to import them in but I'm having a hard time getting the contours inplace.  I went through the tutorials givien in startup but I'm still doing something wrong.  

All I need is to import the points, create a TIN??, create contours, show points and elevations.

Is there something simple that's out there to follow??

I attached my points. There are 2.  There was 2 surveys taken from the same location because there seemed to be points missing.  So, I would like to try to creat 2 different drawings to compare.

Thanks again!!

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
ToddRogers-WPM
in reply to: RJK42

You need to create a surface and add the point group to the surface to read the points.  I will do this for you and post the drawing for you to see.

Todd Rogers
Message 3 of 7
ToddRogers-WPM
in reply to: RJK42

What coordinate system are these points in?  Looks like Lat and Long.

Todd Rogers
Message 4 of 7

I don't think it could be Lat/Lon. Positive and negative mixed and way too much spread.

Probably either local N E and delta Z based on the instrument position or delta X, Delta Y, Delta Z or some such. Can't tell from here.

Allen Jessup

Allen Jessup
CAD Manager - Designer
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 5 of 7

Yeah I got the points in, but I have no idea what CS it is in.  Looks to be along the coast somewhere perhaps.

Todd Rogers