AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
clay_carr
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎10-06-2008
Message 1 of 4 (763 Views)

New computer purchase - 32gb RAM and/or SSD

763 Views, 3 Replies
01-16-2013 09:56 AM

We do large residental projects with very tight corridors (2-5' frequency due to curves and walls in some areas).  Our design files are averaging 30-60 meg for grading.  We seem to get hung up on Civil writing temporary save files (.tmp) about every 10-15 minutes (not ac$ files).

 

Would anyone suggest getting 32 gb of RAM on a new computer or would I even use that much?  SSD v Traditional HD? Here are the current specs we are looking at:

 

2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-3820 (10M Cache, Overclocked up to 4.1 GHz)

Windows® 7 Professional, 64Bit, English

32GB (4 X 8GB) Quad Channel DDR3 at 1600MHz

1.5GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 660

1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3Gb/s

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,210
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 4 (760 Views)

Re: New computer purchase - 32gb RAM and/or SSD

01-16-2013 10:05 AM in reply to: clay_carr

Not sure you would ever use that much RAM.  I can see one small bottleneck - 7200 RPM SATA II drive.  Go with a SATA 6 Gb/s drive, something with a large cache size.  Most motherboards have at least two ports for these.  If you have all your work, settings, etc. on a network and don't mind a *little* extra cost go with a SATA 6 Gb/s SSD for the OS and software.  Speaking of networks, might be an idea to make sure yours is up to snuff - no point dropping major cash on an overclocked RAM monster only to show little improvement.

 

And, the hardware forum: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Hardware/bd-p/116

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 3 of 4 (695 Views)

Re: New computer purchase - 32gb RAM and/or SSD

01-17-2013 01:38 AM in reply to: clay_carr

Personally I doubt you'd use the RAM. On my computer I went for 16 Gb which has been more than adequate (most of my work is with large surfaces and lots of gradings), but I made sure I had extra slots to go higher in the future if needed. 

I'd do a bit of research on the 3820 processor though. Initially I was considering this one for my build but quickly changed my mind after reading various specs/reviews. If you are just using C3D, then you are better off having a faster processing speed rather than more cores, as a lot of the time you're only utilising one core.

A SSD is great. There is some debate out there about long-term reliability, but I haven't had any problem with two computer running them for a year or so now. They are waaaaaay faster than traditional HDD's. I have a sata 6 HDD for data - I'm sure it's faster than the older drives, but it's not particularly noticeable.

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 (testing 2015 SP1)
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000
Valued Contributor
HansSMS
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
Message 4 of 4 (660 Views)

Re: New computer purchase - 32gb RAM and/or SSD

01-17-2013 04:19 PM in reply to: clay_carr

I installed a SSD drive and it has been really worthwhile. No noise, no vibrations and astoundingly fast.

Hans Moller
Surveying & Management Services
Gladstone Australia
Clevo Metabox 16GB, Intel i7-3720QM 3.1Ghz, 256GB SSD, Nvidia GTX 680M
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.