AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
Weathington
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Message 1 of 10 (672 Views)

New Dell Computer Specs

672 Views, 9 Replies
08-15-2013 12:47 PM

I am searching for 2 new Dell Desktops for our office.  We use AutoDesk Infrastructure Design 2014.

 

I need help on which Dell computer/workstation to start configuring and what video card to use (needs to be dual montior capable).

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,311
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 10 (663 Views)

Re: New Dell Computer Specs

08-15-2013 01:27 PM in reply to: Weathington

If you are going to be working in Infraworks, make sure you get a solid state hard drive.  Check video cards on the hardware compatibility website...

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert?id=18844534&siteID=123112&-detail

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,734
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 10 (661 Views)

Re: New Dell Computer Specs

08-15-2013 01:31 PM in reply to: Weathington

My system works pretty well for my needs and although I haven't got into much Infraworks/3ds Max stuff yet I'm sure it'll be more than capable....

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Member
Weathington
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Message 4 of 10 (655 Views)

Re: New Dell Computer Specs

08-15-2013 01:39 PM in reply to: neilyj

Neilyj,

 

If you don't mind me asking about how much did that setup cost?

Distinguished Contributor bf
Distinguished Contributor
bf
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎08-27-2003
Message 5 of 10 (648 Views)

Re: New Dell Computer Specs

08-15-2013 01:57 PM in reply to: Weathington

I just went through the same thing not too long ago.  Am running the same 2014.  Haven't had any problems. 

Dell

Xeon E5-1620 3.6 Ghz

16 GB RAM

2 GB Quadro 4000

230GB SSD drive

300 GB SATA Second drive

No trial versions of programs

I also talked to Xi computers and could get what I wanted for less ( I wanted a different and faster processor) but our outsourced tech guy wanted Dell and my boss went with that. 

Valued Mentor
joantopo
Posts: 665
Registered: ‎04-25-2010
Message 6 of 10 (630 Views)

Re: New Dell Computer Specs

08-15-2013 08:17 PM in reply to: Weathington

you can use nvdia quadro with nview aplication but nvdia doesn't give support driver for c3d 2013, 2014...

i'm dissapointed about this.

Autocad Civil 3D 2014 +SP1 // Civil 3D 2015
Quad Core Intel i7 3770-cpu 3.40Ghz.
ssd samsung 840 pro 512gb+ssd samsung 840 pro 256 gb+1tb hdd
32gb RAM 1600 Mhz.
nVidia Quadro 2000.
Win 7 Pro 64bit

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,734
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 7 of 10 (619 Views)

Re: New Dell Computer Specs

08-15-2013 11:53 PM in reply to: Weathington
I'm afraid I don't know - the IT guy sourced it after I pointed him in the right spec direction...:smileyhappy:
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Contributor bf
Distinguished Contributor
bf
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎08-27-2003
Message 8 of 10 (599 Views)

Re: New Dell Computer Specs

08-16-2013 06:03 AM in reply to: Weathington

and if you look at Autodesks approved specs, they only tested the ones they list.  They didn't test a whole lot.

Active Member
Weathington
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
Message 9 of 10 (477 Views)

Re: New Dell Computer Specs

12-04-2013 06:01 AM in reply to: bf

Is it worth getting the Xeon over the i7?

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,226
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 10 of 10 (466 Views)

Re: New Dell Computer Specs

12-04-2013 07:54 AM in reply to: Weathington

Usually not, unless you are getting a bulk corporate deal from HP, Dell, or another big distributor.  For single computers or a handful, i7 (or even an i5) all the way.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.