AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,109
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 1 of 6 (130 Views)

Need help with pipe editing

130 Views, 5 Replies
05-06-2011 10:40 AM

I'm having a struggle with editing a pipe network. The problem I have is: I want the inverts to match for incoming and outgoing pipes. Is there a way to enforce the invert relationships? I may want an exact match or a fixed drop across the structure. Per the comment below, applying pipe rules produces undersireable side effects.

 

Another problem I have is part of my network represents existing pipes. I don't want those parts to change when making edits to the network such as connecting new pipes to them. How can I prevent them from being influenced by edits to the new pipes?

 

Thanks

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Mentor
civilspace
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 2 of 6 (120 Views)

Re: Need help with pipe editing

05-06-2011 11:10 AM in reply to: Neilw

Usually, to prevent that interation, I'll create a network for my exisitng pipes and a second one for the proposed works.

 

Regarding the fall across the structure, what comment were you refering to that illustrated why the rules-based method didn't work?

Regards,
Anthony
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,109
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 6 (116 Views)

Re: Need help with pipe editing

05-06-2011 11:16 AM in reply to: civilspace

Hi, I was afraid that was confusing.

 

If I apply pipe rules the existing pipes get changed along with the proposed so I was not finding that helpful. In the past we could not connect pipes from different networks. Is that no longer an issue in 2011? Will the existing pipes remain unaffected by edits to the new pipes? What issues might I encounter?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,496
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 6 (107 Views)

Re: Need help with pipe editing

05-06-2011 12:12 PM in reply to: Neilw

Hi Neil, I would keep the networks seperate to avoid any undesired changes to existing. I do not believe you can connect to different networks - use a dummy structure to connect to existing.

 

Then you could probably gor back to a rule

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,901
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 5 of 6 (66 Views)

Re: Need help with pipe editing

05-10-2011 05:48 AM in reply to: Neilw

Neilw -

 

The "Apply Rules" will only apply the pipe network parts default rules and only to those parts selected.

 

You have a couple of options - 1.) Edit the existing pipes so the rule is "Do Nothing", 2) Only select new pipes.

 

 



Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
ICP
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,109
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 6 (56 Views)

Re: Need help with pipe editing

05-10-2011 07:32 AM in reply to: Matt.Anderson

I hadn't thought of creating a "Do Nothing" rule. Great suggestion. If it works as desired it's better than making a seperate network. I'll give it a try.

 

Thanks Matt.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs