AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Product Support
Jason.Ferrelli
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎08-08-2008
Message 1 of 11 (1,711 Views)

Multiple Data Shortcuts for same Alignment?

1711 Views, 10 Replies
01-25-2011 09:30 AM

For some reason when I try to "Create Reference" to bring in my Alignment, Finished Ground and Existing Ground I get three different alignment data shortcuts instead of them grouping into one. I am trying to find out where in my workflow this all went wrong.

 

I have a .dwg that just has my alignment files in it. Then I make a new drawing and data shortcut in those alignments and Surface. I make my profiles and then create the data shortcuts for those. I start a New drawing and try to reference the alignment and profile and I get duplicated that aren't grouped. If you take a look at the two .bmp's you can see what happens.

The Purple highlighted area is how I want it to show up and that one worked just fine. Same work flow. The yellow is what is giving me a hard time and was hoping someone else has seen this happen and know how to fix it.



Jason Ferrelli
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 2 of 11 (1,677 Views)

Re: Multiple Data Shortcuts for same Alignment?

01-25-2011 11:41 AM in reply to: Jason.Ferrelli

Refer to the attached image.  Looks like you might be data referencing the same files multiple times for each drawing.  Once you create a data shortcut you don't have to do it again, from that point you create the reference from the dref.

Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 3 of 11 (1,636 Views)

Re: Multiple Data Shortcuts for same Alignment?

01-26-2011 08:14 AM in reply to: sjg

I have seen problem like this before.  It was caused when an alignment drawing was copied and the alignment was renamed.  Data shortcuts use the object handles, and these copies had the same handle as the original.  When one was data referenced Civil 3D attached all of them.

 

We were able to fix them by using the "Copy to site" commands in the copied drawings, followed by recreating the data shortcuts.  The "Copy to site" command created a new instance of the alignment with a new handle.

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,263
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 4 of 11 (1,306 Views)

Re: Multiple Data Shortcuts for same Alignment?

11-07-2011 07:22 AM in reply to: david.zavislan

I am having a similar problem:

 

I don't think I have erased and renamed the alignment.  I may have erased it by accident and hit undo to bring it back.

 

I have several profiles for several segments of the main alignment.

 

As I bring in data short cuts for the profiles, it will create duplicate copies of the main "Proposed Gas Main" alignment using the numbering system "Proposed Gas Main (1)" rather than just adding the profile to the original alignment and having it show in the existing profile views.

 

I did open one of the files in 2012 briefly as an experiment.

 

I did note that at one point, the data shortcuts seemed to reset to just two and I had to redo the data shortcuts that vanished.

Ann Wingert, P.E.
Distinguished Mentor
Civil3DReminders
Posts: 899
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 5 of 11 (1,288 Views)

Re: Multiple Data Shortcuts for same Alignment?

11-07-2011 09:30 AM in reply to: annw2

You can use the Data Shortucts Editor (found from the Start Menu) to change how Civil 3D to find the Data Shortcuts by Name instead of by handle.

 

Christopher

http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/

Valued Contributor
yee-fan
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 6 of 11 (1,253 Views)

Re: Multiple Data Shortcuts for same Alignment?

11-08-2011 11:50 AM in reply to: Civil3DReminders

I have the same problem (using Civil 3D 2009).  I am picking up someone else's work, and they established a horizontal alignment in one file.  Then in another file called profiles, say, referenced in the shortcut of the horizontal alignment, and created multiple profiles for this horizontal alignment.  Then shortcuts of the profiles were created.

 

I then went to a 3rd file to try to reference in the profiles, and it was giving me horizontal alignments with (1), (2), etc for each profile. 

 

I don't know if all those shortcuts was messing something up.  Sorry this is just adding to the mess.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,720
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 7 of 11 (1,237 Views)

Re: Multiple Data Shortcuts for same Alignment?

11-08-2011 07:53 PM in reply to: Jason.Ferrelli
It is generally not the best practise to create profiles from DREF'd alignments, at least in my experience. Create the profiles in the same DWG as the alignment and see if that fixes these problems.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,263
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 8 of 11 (1,224 Views)

Re: Multiple Data Shortcuts for same Alignment?

11-09-2011 04:28 AM in reply to: mathewk

Then how do you keep the computer from crashing on large projects?  What happened to best practices about splitting your information apart?

Ann Wingert, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,720
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 9 of 11 (1,219 Views)

Re: Multiple Data Shortcuts for same Alignment?

11-09-2011 06:10 AM in reply to: Jason.Ferrelli
Keep splitting them up but try it a different way. Split the alignments out to different files instead of the alignments and profiles in different files.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Valued Contributor
yee-fan
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 10 of 11 (1,203 Views)

Re: Multiple Data Shortcuts for same Alignment?

11-09-2011 08:32 AM in reply to: mathewk

Thanks, I'll keep that in mind.  I've never split the horizontal and vertical up like that either- they kinda go hand in hand.  I will see if I have time to fix it. 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs