Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Most effective way to create an XREF from a corridor

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
NeilSpoon
1127 Views, 5 Replies

Most effective way to create an XREF from a corridor

I am still fairly new to C3D and currently working on our first real job.

I have done the design and have a corridor for which I have created a couple of different code set styles.

One of the styles is to show the relevant featurelines only (such as EC's, Back of Footways etc), which I want to use as a Design Xref in order for other disciplines to create their drawings (such as landscape architects etc). They only have access to normal AutoCAD.

So I need to somehow export/save the Corriodor as a normal CAD file. I have so far tried the following:

• DREF the corridor in a new C3D drawing and export that to CAD. But of course you cant DREF Corridors.
  • Export the C3D drawing, but this will export the entire drawing. Including some dummy corridors, assemblies, gradings, etc. This would mean a lot of tidying up to be left with just a clean design outline.
  • XREF the C3D drawing into CAD, but again this will insert the entire drawing.
  • Copy Paste the corridor, but this isnt possible
  • Create polylines from the corridor. This works, but have to select each line seperately and it wont inherit the code set style. So this results in too much work.
  • Sheet sets, etc.

Is there a simple way to get a C3D corridor into normal CAD? I get the idea that this software runs on the basis of  everyone using it in terms of drawing production and not normal CAD......