AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 1 of 16 (349 Views)

Memory issue

349 Views, 15 Replies
03-08-2013 09:56 AM

I am running C3d 2012/64 on a machine with 8 GB memory.

Monitoring performance I noticed that no more then 4 GB is used by CAD.

I supposed the OS is using up to 2 GB.

How can I  make CAD use more memory?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 16 (302 Views)

Re: Memory issue

03-09-2013 09:26 AM in reply to: teflon

Hi,

 

>> How can I  make CAD use more memory?

Make your drawings containing more data and the memory-consumption will raise. But Civil3D will not "take additional/more memory" then it needs it.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 16 (295 Views)

Re: Memory issue

03-09-2013 10:43 AM in reply to: teflon

Thank you for your reply!

The problem arise during for example working with grading!

The program freezes and I have to hit Ctrl+Alt+Delete to wake it up!

It should not be a memory issue but it still is!

Is not it?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 16 (292 Views)

Re: Memory issue

03-09-2013 10:58 AM in reply to: teflon

Hi,

 

>> It should not be a memory issue but it still is!

If your taskmanager shows only 4GB of 8GB used then I guess it's no memory problem.

Try to copy the basic elements of your current drawing (needed for creating the grading) and try to create the grading there again.

Also quite often a problem when creating gradings is the geometry you used as edges. If that were polylines that had e.g. more than one vertex per coordinate, or segments are drawn in a (ugly) way like from vertex 1 to 2 to 3 to 2 to 3 to 4 (so the segment 2-3 is trippeled). In that cases I suggest to use the cleanup-functionality (weed points) when converting a poly to a feature line.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 5 of 16 (231 Views)

Re: Memory issue

03-12-2013 10:38 AM in reply to: teflon

I supposed I missed the fact that "Civil 3d 64 bit" is not actually a real 64 program!

So 4 Gb is the limit!

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 16 (228 Views)

Re: Memory issue

03-12-2013 10:41 AM in reply to: teflon

Hi,

 

>> I missed the fact that "Civil 3d 64 bit" is not actually a real 64 program!

Where do you have that story from? :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 16 (216 Views)

Re: Memory issue

03-12-2013 11:41 AM in reply to: teflon

Hi,

 

>> So 4 Gb is the limit!

Especially for you, open Civil3D 2012x64, open parallel to it the Windows taskmanager and look to the processes ==> acad.exe.

Then open the drawing attached here and report:

a) what's the memory consumtion after this drawing is finished with opening

b) what's the memory consumption after a ZOOM 0.03x + _REGENALL if it does not start the regeneration itself (if you have enough memory now) :smileywink:

 

My screenshot:

2013-03-12 19-55-19.png

 

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 8 of 16 (203 Views)

Re: Memory issue

03-12-2013 12:31 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

The computer I am having problem with is at my work. It is a new and powerful laptop.There are 8 GB available but Civil takes just less then 4 GB and crashes all the time.

Her at home I am using a desktop and as you can see CAD is using more then 4.5 GB of 6 GB! So Civil is using more memory (about 97%) despite the fact that less memory is available!

 

So what is the problem????

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 9 of 16 (191 Views)

Re: Memory issue

03-12-2013 01:22 PM in reply to: teflon

Hi,

 

is your office-laptop also running Win8? So then I guess I know why you have crashes multipe times, and that has nothing to do with memory. Civil3D 2012 is not tested on..., not developed for... and not supported for Win8.

 

>> So Civil is using more memory

Great that you tested it and you know now that your message with "Civil is not really a 64bit app" is wrong.

(SCNR: you should have tested that before :smileywink: )

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 10 of 16 (180 Views)

Re: Memory issue

03-12-2013 11:40 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi Alfred!

 

I am aware of Civil 3D not been tested for Win 8 but in this case the question is about getting Civil to use more memory!

I am just making a comparison! If Civil does uses more then 4GB, which is shown in the pic, so why isn´t it doing it?

 

Laptop-Win 7-8GB RAM available: Civil hardly uses 4GB (I can not get anywork done!).

Desktop-Win 8-6GB RAM:Civil uses more than 4.5GB; see the pic!

 

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs