AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
trynders
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 1 of 8 (748 Views)
Accepted Solution

Mask out a portion of ground line profile

748 Views, 7 Replies
02-07-2013 07:24 AM

Hi all,

I have cut a ground line in profile view.  Is there a way to "mask out" a portion of the ground line in the profile?  I need to detail some stair but the surveyors only shot the top and bottom tread.  I don't want to add points to the surface, I just want to draw the steps in and place them in the correct profile location.  And I dont want two horizontal alignments.

 

Thanks

Mentor
dasindog
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Message 2 of 8 (746 Views)

Re: Mask out a portion of ground line profile

02-07-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: trynders

I never found a better way to do it than using a wipeout and changing the draw order. It's logical that you would be able to choose a start and end station for a profile from the profile view properties.

-Dustin
Civil 3D 2013 64 bit SP1
Windows 7 Pro 64
Intel Xeon 2.93GHz
24GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
explodetheblock.wordpress.com
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 8 (745 Views)

Re: Mask out a portion of ground line profile

02-07-2013 07:30 AM in reply to: trynders

You can create two surface profiles. One from the beginning of the alignment to the start of the stairs and the other from the end of the stairs to the end of the alignment. You could then create a layout profile for the stairs.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Mentor
dasindog
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Message 4 of 8 (740 Views)

Re: Mask out a portion of ground line profile

02-07-2013 07:32 AM in reply to: trynders

I take that back. Here are the steps..

 

1. delete your current existing ground profile.

2. Create a profile from surface.

3. On the left under "to sample", choose the stations you want to sample up to the start of the stairs.

4. Click Add

5. repeat steps for the section after the steps.

 

cheers.

-Dustin
Civil 3D 2013 64 bit SP1
Windows 7 Pro 64
Intel Xeon 2.93GHz
24GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
explodetheblock.wordpress.com
Mentor
dasindog
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Message 5 of 8 (739 Views)

Re: Mask out a portion of ground line profile

02-07-2013 07:33 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

You beat me to it Brian.

-Dustin
Civil 3D 2013 64 bit SP1
Windows 7 Pro 64
Intel Xeon 2.93GHz
24GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
explodetheblock.wordpress.com
Mentor
trynders
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 6 of 8 (733 Views)

Re: Mask out a portion of ground line profile

02-07-2013 07:37 AM in reply to: trynders

Thanks... That was easy.  I feel I should have known that. 

 

I love this discussion group.

Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 7 of 8 (693 Views)

Re: Mask out a portion of ground line profile

02-07-2013 09:19 PM in reply to: trynders

Another option might be to add a rectangular HIDE boundary to the Existing Ground surface. This would remove that portion of the profile because there wouldn't be a surface to sample there.

 

--Tom

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 8 of 8 (676 Views)

Re: Mask out a portion of ground line profile

02-08-2013 08:20 AM in reply to: C3D_TomR

C3D_TomR wrote:

Another option might be to add a rectangular HIDE boundary to the Existing Ground surface. This would remove that portion of the profile because there wouldn't be a surface to sample there.

 

--Tom


That would work but you have to be careful with that. If you are doing volume calculations with that surface, there will be no volumes calculated within the area of the hide boundary because there is no surface there.

 

What would be ideal is to simply mask a portion of the profile similar to the way you can mask a portion of the alignment.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.