AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 11 of 22 (296 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

10-19-2012 02:26 PM in reply to: atklump

Does it matter? My first response is correct; there is no way (with out programing) to get c3d info int a field.

 

Cut and paste, but that would be double posting a double post :smileysurprised:

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 12 of 22 (287 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

10-20-2012 08:06 AM in reply to: atklump

Deflections are included if you use an Alignment with your pipes.  It is under Label Styles, Tangent Intersection.

 

Bill

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 13 of 22 (284 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

10-20-2012 12:31 PM in reply to: wfberry

yes but you can't access it from the structure label style

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
atklump
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 14 of 22 (235 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-02-2012 02:26 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Sorry Joe,

No luck on the multiling labeling in GIS.  Our two GIS guys don't work with labels often enough to know.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 15 of 22 (217 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-05-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: atklump

Thanks for looking

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 16 of 22 (205 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-05-2012 01:17 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Civil 3D doesn't have a pipe line / structure label like this of label built in.

 

I would make two labels and place them on together. The structure label would label the size and number, and the aligment label would label the turned angle. I might add a short line seg to the "top" label so that I could snap the "bottom" label into position.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 17 of 22 (202 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-05-2012 01:49 PM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Thanks Peter

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
atklump
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 18 of 22 (170 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-27-2012 02:02 PM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Peter,

 

It appears you are an employee of autodesk.  Could you find out why wouldn't autodesk have labels generated to function similar to mtext?  Be able to add fields to the labels, and make it annotative to improve efficiency of labeling?

 

They made something that seems very robust, but if the general user can't figure it out intuitively, then it is relatively worthless.  Small companies can't afford the additional training required to optimize this stuff, especially when it can barely afford the subscription. 

 

The work around doesn't work when you have it oriented different in various viewports.

 

Thanks for the suggestion though Peter.

Adam

Valued Mentor
engineer4life1979
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 19 of 22 (159 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-27-2012 05:05 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe,

not sure if I completely grasped your question about multiline label (your question was on ArcGIS or Map 3D?), but are you trying to add labels composed of multiple lines pulling info from different attribute fields in ArcGIS? if so, you may be able to accomplish what you need with VB label expression using the  vbCrLf function. please see attached image for an example, labels the drainage area name, divides the sq.ft area by 43560, rounds it, and labels the arcreage in the second line.

Civil 3D 2013 SP1, Win 7-64 bit
12GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 20 of 22 (153 Views)

Re: MTEXT Field data location

11-27-2012 06:45 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Hi YoungPE,

 

It the Mad3d I'm working in, I have since gotten into the expression builder, but in 2012 the enhanced label interface added a wizard that does do what I intuitivly expect it to do.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs