AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
elijahvoigt
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎01-22-2011
Message 1 of 17 (425 Views)

Looking for area between profiles...

425 Views, 16 Replies
04-09-2013 06:35 AM

Hello I am looking to calculate an area between to profiles(sq ft). I basically have a profile along GL of a wall along with a profile at FG along the back side of wall at the front face of panel. I need to calculate the area between the two profiles as that's how the wall construction is billed. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Civil 3D 2014
i7-3930K Overclocked
32 GB Ram
Windows 7 Professional
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 17 (423 Views)

Re: Looking for area between profiles...

04-09-2013 06:40 AM in reply to: elijahvoigt

Draw a profile view for top and bottom of wall.

 

Superimpose top profile to bottom or vice versa.

 

Draw a pline closing the wall face. If the profiles close perfectly and you can turn the grid layer off, the boundary command should work.

 

Add a note label that will use an expression to divide the pline area by the profile view vertical exageration.

 

Attached is the result of the above w/o the area label.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,200
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 17 (389 Views)

Re: Looking for area between profiles...

04-09-2013 07:25 AM in reply to: elijahvoigt

I posed a similar question some years ago. You might find it helpful. I ended up using John's approach but it was noted there may be a way to do it with QTO.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Benched-wall-quantities/m-p/2698194/highlight/true#M1...

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Valued Contributor
emelendez
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎07-01-2011
Message 4 of 17 (345 Views)

Re: Looking for area between profiles...

04-10-2013 06:26 AM in reply to: elijahvoigt

Not sure if I fully understand what is needed, but, If the profiles are actual profiles and not drawn by hand you could get the area utilising surfaces and volumes. If you have a profile of the GL and the FG then you can create a surface for each that is 1 foot wide. then calculate the volume between the two. this will be the same as the area.

Simple math:

V=LxWxH, A=LxW there fore V=AxH but if the width of the surface is 1, then the formula breaks down to V=LxH also known as the vertical surface area between the two profiles.

 

Edwin Melendez
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 Certified Professional
Certification No. 00319327
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 17 (342 Views)

Re: Looking for area between profiles...

04-10-2013 06:32 AM in reply to: emelendez

I like that idea.  I presume you mean to create a corridor from both profiles, > corridor surfaces > volume surface.

 

Be careful though.  Make sure both corridors are based on profiles on the same alignment.  If not, the top and bottom surfaces won't fully overlap and the volume could be cut in half or more than what it should be to represent the area.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Contributor
emelendez
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎07-01-2011
Message 6 of 17 (334 Views)

Re: Looking for area between profiles...

04-10-2013 06:55 AM in reply to: troma

yes, I did mean using a corridor. I Haven't had my first cup of coffee yet so I'm not running on all 8 yet. :smileyvery-happy:

Although it would be easier to manage, you don't actually have to have them associated to the same alignment; however, the alignments would have to be directly over one another. there are pros and cons to both. what I would do though, is make the "base" surface (corridor) just a bit wider then the "top" surface (corridor) that will prevent the error you speek of.

Edwin Melendez
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 Certified Professional
Certification No. 00319327
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,200
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 7 of 17 (319 Views)

Re: Looking for area between profiles...

04-10-2013 09:01 AM in reply to: emelendez

Kudos to you for a great suggestion.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Member
elijahv
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 8 of 17 (306 Views)

Re: Looking for area between profiles...

04-10-2013 10:05 AM in reply to: jmayo

JOHNM This is the method I will end up using. The only thing is that I am having trouble getting the expression right within the lable. Could you help with what that would look like. My vert eg is 10. Thank You

Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 17 (293 Views)

Re: Looking for area between profiles...

04-10-2013 10:52 AM in reply to: elijahv

Here are the three label styles that I have used.

 

The profile method is better for our workflow because we need to submit construction drawings for the wall that will  include block layout, geogrid layout, anchors, etc. The superimposed profiles set this up nice. Profile sta/elv labels make it easy to draw the wall in our structural sofware that will spit out the block and geogrid layout. Surfaces and QTO add tasks/time without gains in the production cycle.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Valued Contributor
emelendez
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎07-01-2011
Message 10 of 17 (282 Views)

Re: Looking for area between profiles...

04-10-2013 11:12 AM in reply to: jmayo

Well that is a matter of opinion. As with most things with Civil 3D, there are more than one way to get the same result. it's just a matter of how far you want to take it and how comfortable you are with certain things. some people are not comfortable with corridors and other are not comfortable with pipes.

 

The time it takes to create 2 assemblies and then a quick coridor and surface is only a matter of 5 minutes tops. The production benefit is if either profile changes. You will not have to trace the profile again, just change the profile, rebuild the corridor and then check the stats of the volume surface. This takes less time than recreating the polyline. I'm sure there are other benefits with creating tables and stuff that I am not thinking of.

 

With that said, I do not know the specific purpose of this exercise as I do not do any work dealing with quantifying surface areas of walls.

 

Bottom line, choose the method you are most comfortable with and run with it like a fat kid chasing the ice cream truck!:smileylol:

Edwin Melendez
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 Certified Professional
Certification No. 00319327

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs