AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
smizsak
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
Message 1 of 11 (471 Views)
Accepted Solution

Link Slope to Elevation only works in one direction

471 Views, 10 Replies
12-18-2013 06:55 AM

I have a subassembly that will target a specific elevation. The problem I am having is that it will only work in one direction, so if I assign an elevation that is typically 2 feet higher then it only works in the cut scenario. If I switch the value of the Elevation to a lower target value then it only works in a fill scenario. This only works if I switch the sign of the slope from positive to negative to keep things equal... Basically it is ignoring the decision I made.  Any ideas? I've attached some screen captures for a visual.

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,093
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 2 of 11 (389 Views)

Re: Link Slope to Elevation only works in one direction

12-22-2013 05:08 AM in reply to: smizsak

Post a good clear sketch of the design problem for comment and analysis.

 

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,530
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 3 of 11 (376 Views)

Re: Link Slope to Elevation only works in one direction

12-22-2013 01:23 PM in reply to: smizsak

In addition to the sketch Fred asked for, I'd like to see a screen shot that shows us what IS happening (i.e. one sketch showing us what you WANT and a screenshot showing us what you DO GET).

 

In the interim, how are P1 & AP1 defined?  It sounds like you're saying that it always uses the TRUE side even when you expect it to use the FALSE side.  Right?

 

 

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Contributor
smizsak
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
Message 4 of 11 (358 Views)

Re: Link Slope to Elevation only works in one direction

12-23-2013 06:00 AM in reply to: smizsak

fcernst and Don;

 

I've attached three new images of the subassembly in object viewer.

The subassembly will build just fine if it is completely in a Cut or Fill scenario.

     I assigned different slopes for each scenarios to test my "Decision" in SAC... Works justs fine

Problem is when the subassembly isn't always in just a cut or fill situation but varies.

    In this situation... The subassembly will only build in a Cut scenario (True statement in my decision).

    If I switch the slope to havbe a negative value... then it will only build in the Fill areas but still pulling the slopes from the True statement

 

My AP1 is assigned from the Origin with Delta X Delta Y... O for X and "Elevation" for Y (See Image04)

I then compare AP1.elevation to P1.elevation to see if AP1 is greater than P1.

If true (See image01)

If False (See Image02)

Variables are in Image03.

 

Thanks for the assistance

Contributor
smizsak
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
Message 5 of 11 (352 Views)

Re: Link Slope to Elevation only works in one direction

12-23-2013 06:34 AM in reply to: smizsak

Missed Image04

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,530
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 6 of 11 (331 Views)

Re: Link Slope to Elevation only works in one direction

12-23-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: smizsak

How is P1 defined?

 

AP1 is ALWAYS the same distance from the origin (unless you use the Section Editor to change individual station ranges/sections).  If P1 is also a static distance from the origin, then the decision will always be the same.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Contributor
smizsak
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
Message 7 of 11 (318 Views)

Re: Link Slope to Elevation only works in one direction

12-23-2013 08:10 AM in reply to: doni49

P1 is defined at the origin

AP1 is defined to a set elevation

So the distance from P1.elevation to AP1.elevation should change based on the profile of the corridor.

 

I can see the subassembly distance change in the corridor

 

Here is a copy of the PKT

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,530
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 8 of 11 (300 Views)

Re: Link Slope to Elevation only works in one direction

12-23-2013 08:34 AM in reply to: smizsak

smizsak wrote:

P1 is defined at the origin

AP1 is defined to a set elevation

So the distance from P1.elevation to AP1.elevation should change based on the profile of the corridor.

 

I can see the subassembly distance change in the corridor

 

Here is a copy of the PKT


No AP1's Y parameter is set to DELTA Y.  Delta means CHANGE of a specified amount.  In this case, Delta Y = Elevation and is what I'm guessing is a decimal value.  If that value is 10.0, then it will be 10.0 ABOVE origin.  If that value is -5.0 then it will be 5.0 BELOW the origin.  Therefore, the distance between AP1 and P1 will always be the same.

 

Origin is always at the profile location.  That's what is causing you to see the change in elevation. 

 

EDIT:  That's why you have DELTA X = 0 -- you're going 0.0 in the x direction so it's directly above or below the origin.

 

EDIT2:  I forgot to mention that I couldn't open your file because I'm on 2012 here.  When I attempted to open your file, it threw errors.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,530
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 9 of 11 (291 Views)

Re: Link Slope to Elevation only works in one direction

12-23-2013 08:54 AM in reply to: doni49

If Elevation is an Elevation Target (on the Target Parameters tab) then try setting AP1's properties to Angle and Delta Y.

 

Then Elevation Target to Elevation.

 

SACElevationTarget.png

 

 

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Contributor
smizsak
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
Message 10 of 11 (286 Views)

Re: Link Slope to Elevation only works in one direction

12-23-2013 09:02 AM in reply to: doni49

Took me a second to wrap my head around it. Makes sense now.

I changed my decision to be "elevation>P1.elevation". Don't even use AP1 anymore.

Seems to work now. Thanks for the help

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.