AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 11 of 16 (99 Views)

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-12-2013 10:23 AM in reply to: Jay_B

A slimmed down drawing is attached (the eTransmittal was too large).  Thanks for taking a look!

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 1,881
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 12 of 16 (95 Views)

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-12-2013 10:34 AM in reply to: johnthoreson

Well it's Transpearancy after all.

 

First thing done was select the top VP & open Properties Palette (which revaels) 90% Trans. is applied to the VP's.

 

Go to Transp. icon & Toggle it off and things appear normally.

 

I would change the values to zero at VP object level in Properties though.

 

trans.PNG

 

 

Jay

C3D 2012 SP3 & C3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 1,881
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 13 of 16 (94 Views)

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-12-2013 10:38 AM in reply to: johnthoreson

BTW, All of the light grey objects in dwg have a 90% Trans. applied at the object level when viewed in Properties.

Jay

C3D 2012 SP3 & C3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Active Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 14 of 16 (82 Views)

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-12-2013 11:46 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Thanks for the solution, Jay!  

 

As far as I can tell, all the VP Transparency values for the viewports are 0 already.

 

Another engineer in my office put this drawing together (I'm just troubleshooting) so I'm not sure how this issue would have come about.  Would someone have to select the objects and set the Transparency value?  

 

I also see in Properties that the Transparency value for some objects is "ByLayer".  How are objects set to "ByLayer" after a numerical value has been entered?  

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 1,881
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 15 of 16 (74 Views)

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

12-12-2013 12:14 PM in reply to: johnthoreson

Your welcome, glad to help.

 

As far as how they got that way, check the Setting Variable CETRANSPARENCY which when set to -1 (default) then Transparency will be "Bylayer"

on all newly created objects.

 

To change the existing object Transparency "Bylayer" Use the Change command (note the dash before -CH)

-CH>select objects key in ALL>Enter>P>Enter>TR>Enter>Bylayer.

 

Do this twice, once in Model Space and once in Paper Space as there are objects in both at 90%.

 

HTH

Jay

C3D 2012 SP3 & C3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Active Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 16 of 16 (39 Views)

Re: Linework and text, but not blocks and leaders, greyed out

01-23-2014 05:00 PM in reply to: Jay_B

This is great information, Jay!  Thanks again.  Sorry for the late reply.

John Thoreson
C3D 2013

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs