AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
bcschwenn
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Message 1 of 23 (494 Views)

Line Segment Label Anchor Point

494 Views, 22 Replies
01-30-2013 11:09 AM

I am trying to create surface elevation labels along a polyline and I am having an issue with the label anchor point.  I have created a line label style that uses a reference text to produce the elevation from a specified surface, however when I insert the label the default anchor point for the label is in the center of the line segment and that is where the reference text is taking the surface elevation.  I am looking for the elevation of the surface at the start of each line segment, and I do not know how I can make it stop defaulting to the center of the line segment.

 

Attached is an overview of what my labels look like, where the anchor point is, and the layout properties within my label style.

 

Thanks for any help with this, I am using C3D 2012.

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 2 of 23 (457 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-30-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: bcschwenn
Look at your pic showing the label settings, this is something I do frequently and not realize you actually might be modifying the Label Tag component and not the reference text component.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
Member
bcschwenn
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Message 3 of 23 (450 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-30-2013 01:14 PM in reply to: sjg

Sorry for the mistake, I took a capture of the wrong component.  Attached is the updated capture showing my Reference Text settings.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 23 (423 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-30-2013 04:29 PM in reply to: bcschwenn

can you post the style?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 5 of 23 (407 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 05:55 AM in reply to: bcschwenn

Using the "Add Multiple" option when labling linework, there is no way to change where the label is attached to the line. If you have only a handfull, you could probably use the add single option. Using this option wherever you select the line to lable it, that's where the label is placed on the line.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 23 (402 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 06:22 AM in reply to: bcschwenn

You need to add a block to the label. Attach that to the feature and then attach the ref txt to the block. Here is one that you can slide up and down the line and get the elv at that point and one for start and one for end. Curve lbls also in there. You may fine it faster to assign elevation to the fline and use those elv's in the label forgoing the whole ref' txt and possibly losing the surface link. Exampleas attached. Green FLine lbls use fline elv's. Magenta line has ref txt lbls.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 23 (404 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 06:23 AM in reply to: jmayo

Dang it.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 8 of 23 (393 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 07:11 AM in reply to: jmayo

John,

 

That label works great but unfortunately, it labels the elevations of the lines. I believe the OP wants label the elevation of the surface using reference text and not the elevation of the line. As far as I know, the surface reference text will only get the elevation of the surface at the label location and you can't tell it to get the surface elevation at the beginning or end.

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 9 of 23 (392 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 07:13 AM in reply to: bcschwenn

bcschwenn,

 

What is the purpose of this label? Perhaps there is another way of accomplishing what you need.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 23 (384 Views)

Re: Line Segment Label Anchor Point

01-31-2013 07:37 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

The labels on the magenta line are ref txt surf elev's. Sorry I forgot to mention that you need to slide the grip at the center of the to the end or start point as required.

 

I suggested assigning elev's from the surface to the line to save time and gave examples of each label type required.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs