AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 234
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 1 of 12 (238 Views)

LiDAR data format troubles

238 Views, 11 Replies
04-10-2014 03:21 PM

Hi, I have a project where LiDAR data has been supplied with file types RRD, ERS, AUX, TFW, TAB and TIF. No LAS files were supplied (or available apparently) and I'm having trouble finding out how I generated a point cloud/surface from these files.

The TIF image appears to simply be a greyscale version of a normal vertical aerial photography.

The TAB file does not open in Civil3D, but will in MapInfo. The image that appears shows an oblique view of the landscape. So there is elevation information there, but for that image it is nothing like georeferenced.

The RRD file is a large file (similar in size to the TIF) and I suspect that is where the real data lie.

Does anyone have any clues as to how to utilise these files?

Thanks

- Mick

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000
Active Contributor
jon_b
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-04-2013
Message 2 of 12 (231 Views)

Re: LiDAR data format troubles

04-10-2014 03:52 PM in reply to: autoMick

The TIF (and its corresponding location file TFW) may contain the surface data, Try "Create surface from DEM..." and select the GEOTIFF file format.

Active Contributor
jon_b
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-04-2013
Message 3 of 12 (226 Views)

Re: LiDAR data format troubles

04-10-2014 03:56 PM in reply to: jon_b

RRD (Reduced Resolution Dataset) files are used in the ESRI universe, but I don't think we can use them in Civil 3D.

Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 234
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 4 of 12 (211 Views)

Re: LiDAR data format troubles

04-10-2014 04:54 PM in reply to: jon_b

thanks Jon, I'm pretty sure I tried the GeoTIFF option... can't remember the outcome exactly so will try again and explore any options. [update. I tried it again 'Create surface from DEM' then GeoTIFF... C3D just says 'unable to read file'. I tried also creating a point cloud and reading data from the TIF file - I've tried with and without setting a coordinate system, but in all cases, C3D starts to create the point cloud and then I get an error: 'an error occurred in data processing'. I've tried multiple files (tiles) from the LiDAR set. ]

Yes, I got the impression that the dataset had a number of files to improve compatibility (mapinfo, arcview, etc.) which makes it all the more frustrating that I can't seem find something to open it all correctly. I don't have any ESRI products to turn to.

regards

- Mick

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000
Valued Contributor
brian.strandberg
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 5 of 12 (198 Views)

Re: LiDAR data format troubles

04-10-2014 05:14 PM in reply to: autoMick

If anyone finds a process or a link to a procedure, please post!.

Active Contributor
jon_b
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-04-2013
Message 6 of 12 (193 Views)

Re: LiDAR data format troubles

04-10-2014 05:22 PM in reply to: brian.strandberg

I did run into a circumstance before where the GEOTIFF was unable to be understood by Civil 3D due to its compression format (LZW or something similar).  If you have a program you could open the file with then save it with different or no compression Civil 3D may be able to read it, Gimp should be able to handle a file that size and is free.

Active Contributor
jon_b
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-04-2013
Message 7 of 12 (192 Views)

Re: LiDAR data format troubles

04-10-2014 05:24 PM in reply to: jon_b

If you can upload the TIF and TFW files, I can take a look at them in the morning.

Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 234
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 8 of 12 (178 Views)

Re: LiDAR data format troubles

04-10-2014 06:51 PM in reply to: jon_b

Thanks Jon, I don't think I'll be able to upload due to licencing issues. File sizes are massive too.

As it turns out, after about 15 phone calls today, it seems that the LAS files may be available after all and should be sent to me today. So if all goes well, I can just do things as I normally would. I submitted this thread to Autodesk support as well, so it will be interesting to see if a solution to the original problem is available.

I'll post the outcome

Thanks

- Mick

 

 

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,603
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 9 of 12 (165 Views)

Re: LiDAR data format troubles

04-11-2014 01:03 AM in reply to: jon_b
jon_b wrote:

If you have a program you could open the file with then save it with different or no compression Civil 3D may be able to read it ... Gimp


 

I'd not do that, sir.

If you resave a Geotiff file in a third-party editor, you'll lose the geo-header embedded within the Dem, no matter of the external TFW worldfile.

To recover the point cloud in a text fashion, I advise to convert the Dem file to XYZ Ascii format, e.g. thru the free Microdem.

Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 234
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 10 of 12 (155 Views)

Re: LiDAR data format troubles

04-11-2014 04:36 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Well, I've got hold of the 'not available' LAS files and as expected they provide everything I need. So my project issues are solved.

As for my original post - I spent another half hour just to see if any of the other suggestions raised here would bear fruit, but no real luck on that front. I can't spend any more time on it - too many deadlines, so I'll have to let the next user who comes up with this issue to carry on the quest.

Thanks Jon and Antonio for your suggestions.

Regards

- Mick

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs