AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 1 of 10 (1,206 Views)

Level of Detail View

1206 Views, 9 Replies
05-29-2013 03:10 PM

How can I turn it off permanently? Or change the default to off? It's always on when I open my drawings.

I save the files with it off, but when I reopen, it's still on. A real pain in the butt when plotting since if I batch plot, all of my contours are off, which eliminates using batch plot entirely. Luckily, I only have 5 figures at the moment, but once we get to design phase I will have many more and require batch plotting.

 

I'm using civil3d 2013, I have never run into this before with any other versions.

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,734
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 10 (1,187 Views)

Re: Level of Detail View

05-30-2013 12:08 AM in reply to: csevers
I've never noticed this issue, mine is turned off and stays off.

Clutching at straws a bit but is it on in your template?
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Contributor
Tom_Berning
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎08-08-2006
Message 3 of 10 (1,175 Views)

Re: Level of Detail View

05-30-2013 05:48 AM in reply to: csevers

The Level of Detail is only used for viewing. When you plot a drawing, the full detail of all objects is plotted no matter how they appear on the screen. Batch plotting should still work.

Tom Berning
Woolpert, Inc.
Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,823
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 4 of 10 (1,140 Views)

Re: Level of Detail View

06-02-2013 10:12 AM in reply to: csevers

 

View tab -> Views panel -> Level of Detail.(select)

 

This should turn it OFF or ON.

 

Bill

Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 5 of 10 (1,131 Views)

Re: Level of Detail View

06-02-2013 11:43 AM in reply to: csevers

Yes, I agree that does turn it on and off.

However, no matter how I save the drawing, with level of display on, or off, when I open the drawing, there are no contours displayed whatsoever, no matter how close I zoom, and the level of display is always on. Then when I turn it off, the contours come on. Then if I turn the level of display back on, it works correctly. If I save at this point, close the drawing, and open it again, it all starts over with no contours displayed at all.

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,093
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 6 of 10 (1,117 Views)

Re: Level of Detail View

06-02-2013 07:39 PM in reply to: csevers

Sounds like there might be a problem with your installation, or maybe an error in your template drawing.  I turned off this setting long ago, and never had any trouble with it after that.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 7 of 10 (930 Views)

Re: Level of Detail View

11-05-2013 12:28 PM in reply to: sboon

I'm still having the same issue. I think it may be due to the size of the surface, it's about 1,000,000 points. It's about 4 square miles, I didn't think that was that large, maybe I'm wrong.

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,849
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 10 (921 Views)

Re: Level of Detail View

11-05-2013 01:38 PM in reply to: csevers

That's fairly large. Can you break it up into sections?

 

Allen Jessup

Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 9 of 10 (918 Views)

Re: Level of Detail View

11-05-2013 01:43 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

Will it help to have multiple smaller surfaces instead of one big one? They will all still need to be in one base drawing. Currently, I have two surfaces (one is approx. 250,000 points, the other is approx. 750,000). 

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,849
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 10 of 10 (916 Views)

Re: Level of Detail View

11-05-2013 01:45 PM in reply to: csevers

I'll try to get back to you on that. End of the day here.

 

Allen

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.