AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
SgtElPavo
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
Message 1 of 11 (424 Views)

Leader attachment to pipe structure

424 Views, 10 Replies
07-25-2012 07:03 AM

I would like the arrowhead for the leader labaling my structure in a pipe network to attach to the outside edge of the structure.  Right now it attaches to the middle of the structure and is covered by the block representing my structure. 

    What I have:What I have.GIFWhat I want:What I want.GIF

Active Member
SgtElPavo
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
Message 2 of 11 (422 Views)

Re: Leader attachment to pipe structure

07-25-2012 07:08 AM in reply to: SgtElPavo

Civil 3D 2009, by the way.

Distinguished Contributor
n2itive
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-15-2003
Message 3 of 11 (395 Views)

Re: Leader attachment to pipe structure

07-25-2012 12:45 PM in reply to: SgtElPavo

I'm having trouble reproducing your results whether I use a block or the outside of the structure as my symbol. In either case my arrow head from my leader always attaches to the edge of the structure.

My first suggestion would be to check your label style, under dragged state, and make sure your arrow head style is set to "closed filled". My thought is that its set to none or maybe such a small scale that you're not seeing it.

 

Infrastructure Design Suite 2014
Civil 3D 2013 sp2
Windows 7 x 64, 16 GB
Intel Xeon @ 2.80 GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K2000
Active Member
SgtElPavo
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
Message 4 of 11 (384 Views)

Re: Leader attachment to pipe structure

07-25-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: n2itive

Thanks for the reply.  Here is a screen shot of the block displayed below other features so you can see the arrow head. 

  Block below.JPG

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,821
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 5 of 11 (380 Views)

Re: Leader attachment to pipe structure

07-25-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: SgtElPavo

Instead of having your block cover your structure, perhaps make your "block" the structure in your plan view.

 

Bill

 

Active Member
SgtElPavo
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
Message 6 of 11 (378 Views)

Re: Leader attachment to pipe structure

07-25-2012 01:51 PM in reply to: wfberry

Bill, I think I did that already.  I right clicked on the structure that was already there, and then clicked edit structure styles where I got this dialogue box.  Then I built the block in the preview box and used it for my structure symbol.  Is this what you meant?

  structure block.JPG

Distinguished Contributor
n2itive
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-15-2003
Message 7 of 11 (375 Views)

Re: Leader attachment to pipe structure

07-25-2012 01:57 PM in reply to: SgtElPavo

Ooh, I see you're telling the truth now! haha. Unfortunately, I only have 2011 & 2012 at my disposal and I've browsed through the label and structure settings but haven't noticed anything that would seem to change this. Maybe a 2009 thing... I don't recall having this issue though. What about checking the "enable part mask" in the bottom left corner?? Maybe this will force the arrow to the outside.

Infrastructure Design Suite 2014
Civil 3D 2013 sp2
Windows 7 x 64, 16 GB
Intel Xeon @ 2.80 GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K2000
Active Member
SgtElPavo
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
Message 8 of 11 (370 Views)

Re: Leader attachment to pipe structure

07-25-2012 02:13 PM in reply to: n2itive

 

I'm pretty sure I've clicked every box, button and field that has anything to do with stations.  It's got to be a 2009 thing.  Thanks for taking the time to do some research anyhow.

Active Member
SgtElPavo
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
Message 9 of 11 (336 Views)

Re: Leader attachment to pipe structure

07-30-2012 06:34 AM in reply to: SgtElPavo

Dang, I really hoped someone would save me over the weekend.

*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 693
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 10 of 11 (326 Views)

Re: Leader attachment to pipe structure

07-30-2012 01:39 PM in reply to: SgtElPavo
Can you post or send your file?
Bruce(dot) Klug (at) clark(dot)wa(dot)gov
Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP2)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.