AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
sakka252
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 1 of 7 (644 Views)
Accepted Solution

Launch Storm Sewers, Hydrographs, and/or Express without opening Civil 3D

644 Views, 6 Replies
03-15-2011 01:29 PM

Does anyone know of a way to launch these programs without opening Civil 3D?  It's pretty silly that we have to launch these programs from within C3D.  Express, specifically, is pretty much a stand alone software.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,798
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 7 (640 Views)

Re: Launch Storm Sewers, Hydrographs, and/or Express without opening Civil 3D

03-15-2011 01:43 PM in reply to: sakka252

have you tried the start button? Go to you Autodesk collection and click. I can do it in 2008

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
sakka252
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 3 of 7 (628 Views)

Re: Launch Storm Sewers, Hydrographs, and/or Express without opening Civil 3D

03-15-2011 02:07 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

In 2011 they are not under the start menu anymore, only under the Analyze tab.  I found the EXE files under "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011\HHApps" folder but you can't even launch the programs from those EXE files.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,206
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 7 (625 Views)

Re: Launch Storm Sewers, Hydrographs, and/or Express without opening Civil 3D

03-15-2011 02:08 PM in reply to: sakka252

in 2010 & higher they are not separate programs anymore they are features of the software

Distinguished Contributor
sakka252
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 5 of 7 (593 Views)

Re: Launch Storm Sewers, Hydrographs, and/or Express without opening Civil 3D

03-16-2011 04:32 AM in reply to: sakka252

Right.  So that means there is no possible way to launch them outside of CAD?  It's pretty clear Autodesk did not consult a user of their software before making that decision.

Distinguished Contributor
sakka252
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 6 of 7 (546 Views)

Re: Launch Storm Sewers, Hydrographs, and/or Express without opening Civil 3D

03-21-2011 10:47 AM in reply to: sakka252

 

I would like to be able to launch the H&H apps without having to start C3D.  Often times it is not necessary for me to be in C3D when I need to launch one of these softwares.  If this is not possible anymore, it is necessary that it be changed.  As designers we are not always in C3D when working on Hydrologic projects.
If you agree that H&H should be capable of launching without C3D open:
-copy the paragraph above

 

Valued Mentor
engineer4life1979
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 7 of 7 (509 Views)

Re: Launch Storm Sewers, Hydrographs, and/or Express without opening Civil 3D

03-21-2011 06:35 PM in reply to: sakka252

just submitted mine. true, it is somewhat annoying that i have to fire up civil 3d to be able to get to these programs! i can understand the "connection" between the pipe networks and storm sewers, but why hydrographs and express?

Civil 3D 2013 SP1, Win 7-64 bit
12GB RAM

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs