AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
musasalemi
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-30-2010
Message 1 of 13 (1,155 Views)
Accepted Solution

Lat Long Conversion in Civil 3D Not Correct

1155 Views, 12 Replies
08-08-2012 09:59 PM

Hi All!

 

I was tried to convert a point from UTM-39N to Lat/Long using geodetic calculator; but when I checked the converted coordinates by another applications (like GeoLab); they were a little different (about two seconds) & I'm sure GeoLab is right. Any Help?

My settings and other information is attached.

Sorry for poor English


Thank you.

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,599
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 13 (1,149 Views)

Re: Lat Long Conversion in Civil 3D Not Correct

08-08-2012 11:00 PM in reply to: musasalemi

Try another way: first _MAPEXPORT it to a point shapefile in LL84, then _MAPIMPORT it back to check the precision.

Contributor
musasalemi
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-30-2010
Message 3 of 13 (1,141 Views)

Re: Lat Long Conversion in Civil 3D Not Correct

08-09-2012 12:42 AM in reply to: antoniovinci
thanks, but unfortunately it doesn't work.
my question is why this had happened? :smileyindifferent:
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,599
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 13 (1,137 Views)

Re: Lat Long Conversion in Civil 3D Not Correct

08-09-2012 12:46 AM in reply to: musasalemi

Please attach that UTM-39N point in DWG format, and paste here the expected LL84 coords, thanks.

Contributor
musasalemi
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-30-2010
Message 5 of 13 (1,129 Views)

Re: Lat Long Conversion in Civil 3D Not Correct

08-09-2012 01:31 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Expected latitude and longitude is:

 Lat: N27° 29' 53.196774"

 Long: E52° 38' 17.028054"

 

and what Civil3D give me is:

 Lat: N27° 29' 51.8162"
 Long: : E52° 38' 16.7578"

and the drawing that have the point is attached (Civil 3D 2012).

 thanks.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,599
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 13 (1,123 Views)

Re: Lat Long Conversion in Civil 3D Not Correct

08-09-2012 02:59 AM in reply to: musasalemi

Well, I tried to convert your EPSG:2059 point (X = 661811.296 , Y = 3042675.664) to EPSG:4326 (i.e. Lat-Long datum WGS84) with two different softwares, and here are my results.

 

1] Quantum Gis yields
LONG = 52.63811871
LAT = 27.49647281

 

2] Autocad Map2006 yields
LONG = 52.63815850 
LAT = 27.49648261

 

then I calculated the HH'MM'SS' format here: http://www.earthpoint.us/Convert.aspx 

 

The Qgis coords are: 27°29'47.3021", 052°38'17.2274"

The Autocad coords are: 27°29'47.3374", 052°38'17.3706"

 

As you can see, there's a LONG difference of 0.1432" and a LAT of 0.0353, yielding a 4 meters shift in LONG, and 1 meter in LAT.

 

Since two dfferent tools gave an almost identical result, I guess your expected coords Lat: N27° 29' 53.196774" Long: E52° 38' 17.028054" are simply wrong, sir.

Contributor
musasalemi
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-30-2010
Message 7 of 13 (1,070 Views)

Re: Lat Long Conversion in Civil 3D is Not Correct

08-09-2012 01:04 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

I work in an oil and gas company and I almost always have to convert Bench marks coords to lat/long or from lat/long coords. because of my job, the converted coords must have high accuracy (often 3mm) and when I use Geolab, I get this precision. I used to check Geolab with a high accuracy routine in MATLAB; so I trust Geolab. :smileyfrustrated:

Any Idea?

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 8 of 13 (1,012 Views)

Re: Lat Long Conversion in Civil 3D is Not Correct

08-11-2012 09:56 AM in reply to: musasalemi

A pipeline must be within 3mm of accuracy horizontally...?  Wow.  Seems like major overkill to me.

Sinc
Contributor
musasalemi
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-30-2010
Message 9 of 13 (979 Views)

Re: Lat Long Conversion in Civil 3D is Not Correct

08-13-2012 03:21 AM in reply to: Sinc

Yes! I think pipe supports and their bolts, pipe equipments like boilers and etc. need that precision.
However I said I want that accuracy for the Bench marks!

Valued Contributor
907Trekker
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Message 10 of 13 (947 Views)

Re: Lat Long Conversion in Civil 3D Not Correct

08-13-2012 12:17 PM in reply to: musasalemi

Everybody is correct!

 

The problem is we are using different horizontal datums, in your autocad image you used the European Datum, but in the GeoLab you used WGS84.  I'm not sure what other people are using.  To check AutoCAD against GeoLab I used WGS84, the same that you used in GeoLab and the resultant coordinates matched, see below:

 

Capture.JPG

 

I STRONGLY suggest that you confirm what datum you are using.  People not understanding horizontal (and vertical) datums can lead to very costly mistakes. 

 

As a PLS this is always something I fear, when people start converting coordinates I start getting phone calls at 2 in the morning.  I suggest you talk to your surveyor about your projects coordinate system, I'm sure they will tell you the same.

 

Thanks,
Mark

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs