Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Land Desktop 2008 project to Civil 3D

16 REPLIES 16
SOLVED
Message 1 of 17
MaryBell1
1257 Views, 16 Replies

Land Desktop 2008 project to Civil 3D

I am just new with this company. My first task is to get them up and running on C3D 2014. There is a project that was started a few years ago, most of the engineering that was done was in LDD 2008 or 2009, it was put on hold for a couple years and now has resurfaced and they are ready to continue with the next few phases. If I brought it into C3D what could I expect. From what I know at this point, C3D works dynamically, I'm assuming I would not get that functionality, I would think all my surfaces would come across, I might have some issues with linework, symbols, layering (I'm creating standards for them as well) and have all the new layers in the new template. I'm sure this is easier than I envision at this point but I'm so new to C3d that its not quick clear yet... any suggestions or information is appreciated.

16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
awood
in reply to: MaryBell1

First step would be to get a working template for Civil 3D. There is an Import Data from Land Desktop command to get the data and AutoCAD entities will open just fine.

Also here's a good article on the subject

http://www.profsurv.com/magazine/article.aspx?i=71355

Hope that helps a little

AWood

Message 3 of 17
MaryBell1
in reply to: awood