AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
terryl
Posts: 211
Registered: ‎10-08-2003
Message 1 of 6 (405 Views)

Label 3D length of a line

405 Views, 5 Replies
04-29-2013 10:59 AM

I did a search and did not find anything, anyone know how to label the 3D length of a line.

 

Thanks

Terry

 

Civil 3D 2013 (SP1)
Dell T3500
Win 7 Pro X64
Intel Xeon 3.2 GHz
24 GB ram
NVIDIA Quadro 4000
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,178
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 6 (397 Views)

Re: Label 3D length of a line

04-29-2013 11:18 AM in reply to: terryl

Use an expression in the label style:

 

SQRT({General Segment Length}^2  + ({General Segment Start Z}-{General Segment End Z})^2)

 

4-29-2013 11-17-51 AM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,206
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 6 (367 Views)

Re: Label 3D length of a line

04-29-2013 12:48 PM in reply to: terryl

Jeff's solution is by far the easiest and fastest way in doing this.  I have attached a video on a different method in getting 3D length.  This is how we all learn from each other, right? :smileyhappy:  Here's the link...

 

https://www.dropbox.com/s/zjrkyfwkz8ch83h/3D%20Length%20Annotation.wmv

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Valued Contributor
Grimes_MG
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Message 4 of 6 (362 Views)

Re: Label 3D length of a line

04-29-2013 12:51 PM in reply to: TRogers

Ah equations. Who'd have thought one would ever need math as a draftsman? Funny how it seems that Autodesk is really testing our STEM curriculum these days....

Win7 (x64), EVGA 790i, 8GB RAM, EVGA 8800GT, 250 GB iSSHDD, & RAID 0/1
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 6 (350 Views)

Re: Label 3D length of a line

04-29-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: Jeff_M
Pythagoras! What would we do without him?

I guess this works for a LINE, or for each segment of a 3D polyline or feature line. But what about the 3D total length of a 3D polyline or feature line?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 6 (345 Views)

Re: Label 3D length of a line

04-29-2013 01:26 PM in reply to: troma

Until they let us grap the overall starting z and ooverall ending z it ain't gonna happen OOTB. This has been one of my wishlist items.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs