AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
matt.boone
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 1 of 16 (4,069 Views)

.LAS Lidar Import

4069 Views, 15 Replies
11-18-2011 06:36 AM

I have several .las lidar files I'm trying to import into C3D. When I go to create point cloud and import the .las file, it says no coordinate system.  The Metadata says NAD83 HARN and NAVD88.  When the .las file is uploaded I just see a square outline with nothing in it.  When I go to the Point Cloud Properties Statistics, it says there are about 7 million points and range from 4.8' to 4031'.  I'm in S Florida so this tile should go from elevation 4' to a maximum of maybe 80' for top of trees or buildings. I've never tried this in CAD, so its basically a learning experience.  Is there any material out there for data settings or a tutorial or something.  I've looked through this site and the user documentation, and there really isn't much info on lidar. Any guidance is appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,075
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 16 (4,050 Views)

Re: .LAS Lidar Import

11-20-2011 02:45 PM in reply to: matt.boone

Go to the YouTube site and search for "Civil3d point cloud."

 

If your coordinates and elevations don't make sense then I'm guessing that you haven't set your coordinate system correctly in Civil3d.  Open the settings tab in the Toolspace dialog, right click on the drawing name and select Edit Drawing Settings.  Check the Units and Zone tab to ensure that your drawing settings are appropriate for your region.  It looks like there are several systems in the USA, Florida group that may work for you.

Active Member
matt.boone
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 3 of 16 (4,034 Views)

Re: .LAS Lidar Import

11-21-2011 07:12 AM in reply to: sboon

Ok, went to the edit drawing settings but there are no preloaded coordinate projections like in ArcGIS.  Is this an add-on I need to download or where would I find it?  I went to youtube but all the relevant videos have errors or aren't found.  Thanks for the help.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,075
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 16 (4,025 Views)

Re: .LAS Lidar Import

11-21-2011 09:24 AM in reply to: matt.boone

If Civil3d is installed correctly then you should have a whole bunch of coordinate systems available.  The only other thing that I can think of is to make sure that you've selected a category.

 

 

 

Clipboard01.png

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,806
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 16 (4,009 Views)

Re: .LAS Lidar Import

11-21-2011 11:14 AM in reply to: matt.boone

matt.boone wrote:

Ok, went to the edit drawing settings but there are no preloaded coordinate projections like in ArcGIS.  Is this an add-on I need to download or where would I find it?  I went to youtube but all the relevant videos have errors or aren't found.  Thanks for the help.


Try entering _ADESETCRDSYS at the command line. Then hit the Select Coordinate System button.

 

Allen

Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 6 of 16 (3,987 Views)

Re: .LAS Lidar Import

11-22-2011 07:59 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

When adding the .LAS file, there is an option after adding (beside the file name) where you can set the .LAS coordinate system, etc. Ensure it matches the metadata, or change it to match.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Contributor
Breshaki
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
Message 7 of 16 (3,322 Views)

Re: .LAS Lidar Import

09-20-2012 11:30 PM in reply to: ericcollins6932

Hi,

 

I have been trying to import a LAS file but i just cant import it in the right coordinate system. 

 

I have followed this tutorial http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D5cplQQCu_4 but in the end i get an error message (see attached file). What am i doing wrong´? I can also mention that the LAS file has the wrong coordinate system i.e  have to convert its coordinate system.

 

Thank you

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,600
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 8 of 16 (3,316 Views)

Re: .LAS Lidar Import

09-21-2012 01:21 AM in reply to: Breshaki

Breshaki wrote:

the LAS file has the wrong coordinate system


Sorry, but I don't believe someone created that .LAS in a wrong CRS: I'd bet you are not in the right CRS, sir...

If you paste here the URL of that point cloud, we might give it a look-over.

Contributor
Breshaki
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
Message 9 of 16 (3,313 Views)

Re: .LAS Lidar Import

09-21-2012 01:39 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

I am sorry for beeing unclear. What i meant to say was that the LAS file was created in a CRS which is used throughout Sweden, its is called Sweref 99 TM, but i need it in Sweref 99 1330 which is the ''local'' CRS that we must use. So the question is how can I import the point cloud AND convert it to the ''right'' system?

 

You can download the LAS file here if you want to try it out. http://ge.tt/7yHrv7O/v/0?c

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,600
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 10 of 16 (3,301 Views)

Re: .LAS Lidar Import

09-21-2012 05:00 AM in reply to: Breshaki

Check the following out by yourself, because my Autocad doesn't support the point clouds, so I cannot "see" if I did it correctly: http://ge.tt/7TgnU8O/v/0?c

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs