AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
mwhosey
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-05-2008
Message 1 of 11 (761 Views)
Accepted Solution

Issue deleting triangle lines in a surface

761 Views, 10 Replies
11-08-2012 10:39 AM

I'm trying to modify a surface I created using drill hole data of a cavern.  When I select the delete lines command for surface editing a message pops up telling me that I must have the triangles displayed in the surface style dialog.  But I do have the triangles displayed, and it still gives me the same message.  Has anyone encountered this before and know of a solution. 

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 11 (745 Views)

Re: Issue deleting triangle lines in a surface

11-08-2012 12:05 PM in reply to: mwhosey

Is it a data shortcut surface or is it natively in the dwg file? Can you post the file??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 11 (730 Views)

Re: Issue deleting triangle lines in a surface

11-08-2012 02:05 PM in reply to: mwhosey

This message should really say 'Triangles need to be displayed in plan view'. If you are displaying triangle in model/3d only try turning them on in plan.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 4 of 11 (721 Views)

Re: Issue deleting triangle lines in a surface

11-08-2012 04:19 PM in reply to: mwhosey

My recommendation (and this is not an answer to your question) is avoid using these type of edits on your surface. Instead, draw a polyline touching the triangles you want to delete and then add that as a boundary and uncheck "Non destructive breakline" (I suppose that makes it destructive?). This will give you much more control on your surface then deleting triangles.

Active Member
mwhosey
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-05-2008
Message 5 of 11 (664 Views)

Re: Issue deleting triangle lines in a surface

11-20-2012 06:55 AM in reply to: mwhosey

neil,

the surface is not a data shortcut, made it from points inserted from point file.

 

john,

the only place I know to display the triangles from is the surface style dialog, under the display tab, turning on the triangle light bulb.  not sure if this turns them on in plan, seems like if they are displayed in model (where I'm working) then it should work.  don't know how to go about displaying them in plan.

 

brian,

I think yours is the best answer, but I don't think a poly line will be sufficient.  Let me try to explain, the cavern is in the shape of an elongated egg (file attached for visual aid), and I want the surface to be the shell of the egg.  but C3D is making the triangles of the surface extend across and through the egg's center instead of only around the outside (shell).  It seems in order for you solution to work I would have to make a secondary 3d egg shape boundary inside the cavern to block the triangles from shooting across the center.  I don't know if that is possible but will try it and see.

Active Member
mwhosey
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-05-2008
Message 6 of 11 (659 Views)

Re: Issue deleting triangle lines in a surface

11-20-2012 07:05 AM in reply to: mwhosey

Well, turns out you can not make a 3d object a surface boundary.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 11 (657 Views)

Re: Issue deleting triangle lines in a surface

11-20-2012 07:07 AM in reply to: mwhosey

I'm opening your file now. You need to turn the triangles on in plan. Note there are 3-4 display modes for C3D object styles. See the attached. Hit the dropdown arrow and select which mode (plan, model, profile or section) you want to edit. Right now your triangles are turned off in plan.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 11 (654 Views)

Re: Issue deleting triangle lines in a surface

11-20-2012 07:09 AM in reply to: jmayo

Also note that you will still be able to select lines to delete in a 3d view. Triangles just need to be displayed in plan.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 11 (652 Views)

Re: Issue deleting triangle lines in a surface

11-20-2012 07:10 AM in reply to: mwhosey

You won't tbe able to model a cavern i.e. floor, sides and roof in one surface as the triangulation algorithm does not allow this. As a workaround, you may have to construct several surfaces (Floor, left side, right side and roof) but they will always be seperate.

 

The AutoCAD solid modelling tools may be more appropriate to this type of task

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 11 (643 Views)

Re: Issue deleting triangle lines in a surface

11-20-2012 07:16 AM in reply to: neilyj

I agree Neil. Either multiple parts (I would try a top and bottom) or AutoCAD Solids.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs