AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
BOBKELLERMAN
Posts: 1,355
Registered: ‎03-13-2001
Message 1 of 4 (227 Views)

Is this drawing is in Civil 3D & can you export to AutoCAD if so? Please

227 Views, 3 Replies
04-26-2011 01:23 PM

My clent does street fairs -- a few years ago, I did the booth layout in Acad for him, over a flat AutoCAD street drawing from the City

 

Now the streets changed slightly, and I received the new drawing. Because I do work like this with Acad 2006, I could not open it, so I had a friend do so and export it to AutoCAD 2004 file format. Half the drawing size went away, as did the xrefs of the street plans -- all I got was layouts containing new street lines, and a twisted Model Space with unusable junk in it.

 

I WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE HELP or a heads up that something other than my guess that it was done in Civil 3D  is the problem,  I am guessing that the xref was there, but went away when my friend exported to plain ACAD

 

Again, if I could get all the parts exported to AutoCAD 2004 file format, please. THANK YOU

 

Bob

Contributor
sfuller
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 2 of 4 (210 Views)

Re: Is this drawing is in Civil 3D & can you export to AutoCAD if so? Please

04-26-2011 03:19 PM in reply to: BOBKELLERMAN

It does appear to be a civil 3d drawing.  There are references to a couple of surfaces, but there is no data with the surfaces.

 

There are no xrefs in the drawing.    I has 5 unrefereneced xrefs.  Sorry there is nothing I can do to help you with it.

 

My guess would be go back to who sent it to you and ask them to do a bind insert on the xrefs and promote the surfaces into the drawing (That is if you need the surfaces). And then have them export it to an earlier version for you.

Mentor
miked
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎12-16-2003
Message 3 of 4 (202 Views)

Re: Is this drawing is in Civil 3D & can you export to AutoCAD if so? Please

04-26-2011 03:34 PM in reply to: BOBKELLERMAN

Looks like it may have started as a Civil3D file but as you have messed around with it all the Civil3d stuff is gone.

Unless you know what you are doing going back to autocad 2006 (way to old) with a Civil file is not straight forward and the drawing will most likely not look the same.

 

NVIDIA Quadro 600
Civil3D 2012 64x
Distinguished Contributor
BOBKELLERMAN
Posts: 1,355
Registered: ‎03-13-2001
Message 4 of 4 (192 Views)

Re: Is this drawing is in Civil 3D & can you export to AutoCAD if so? Please

04-26-2011 03:59 PM in reply to: sfuller

Thanks --

 

Some fool underlying probably "sent the drawing" without thinking. I will bug my client for the correct stuff, or permission to call the City myself.

 

Bob

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.