AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
New Member
LIS_Survey
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-28-2014
Message 1 of 9 (201 Views)

Inserting Points with Attributes

201 Views, 8 Replies
02-28-2014 07:51 AM

I am haveing trouble setting up my Civil 3d 2014 to recognize the Attributes it dropes off after the first descption, what am i doing wring can anyone help me i tring adding more columns but it wont let me, i need to add at least 15 colums we are in the pipeline business and have a lot of attributes we use.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,784
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 9 (192 Views)

Re: Inserting Points with Attributes

02-28-2014 08:13 AM in reply to: LIS_Survey

Search for " User Defined Property Classifications " in Help. We don't use them but that's supposed to be the way to handle it. You could also create an External Data Reference (XDref) to hold the additional attributes

 

Allen

Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 439
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 3 of 9 (191 Views)

Re: Inserting Points with Attributes

02-28-2014 08:16 AM in reply to: LIS_Survey

Out of the Box C3D only uses variations of the PNEZD format;but you can create your own User Defined Properties and create your own custom data columns and a correspoding import format to go with it.

 

These links may help you get started:

 

http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2012/ENU/filesCUG/empty_concept_264-587.htm

 

http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2012/ENU/filesCUG/GUID-3E88B795-F2E0-40E8-9F51-E628C3294B9-352.htm

 

http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2012/ENU/filesCUG/GUID-B4427B10-15A1-4DF9-A38F-8294EBACFF2-695.htm

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,240
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 9 (179 Views)

Re: Inserting Points with Attributes

02-28-2014 08:56 AM in reply to: LIS_Survey

Here is a video I created on how to do this...

 

 

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,469
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 5 of 9 (176 Views)

Re: Inserting Points with Attributes

02-28-2014 09:08 AM in reply to: TRogers

Todd, you had me at att2. ;-)

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,240
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 6 of 9 (174 Views)

Re: Inserting Points with Attributes

02-28-2014 09:10 AM in reply to: tcorey

Haha.  I actually created this for a customer and they needed 10 of them.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
New Member
rudy5470
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
Message 7 of 9 (85 Views)

Re: Inserting Points with Attributes

05-06-2014 05:17 AM in reply to: LIS_Survey

I am have trouble with civil 3d displaying all my attributes.

it works when i first imprt them, but after a few days they all disapear.

 

does anyone have a sulution, reimporting is time consuming verytime this happens, as i have 4,000 points in my file and putting them back in the right layers and using the right symbols takes a long time.

 

Distinguished Mentor
Pointdump
Posts: 552
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 8 of 9 (80 Views)

Re: Inserting Points with Attributes

05-06-2014 05:29 AM in reply to: TRogers

Todd,

 

That is awesome! Well done!

 

Dave

Dave
Mohave Valley, Arizona

HP DV7 Laptop
Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,240
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 9 of 9 (70 Views)

Re: Inserting Points with Attributes

05-06-2014 07:17 AM in reply to: Pointdump

Thank you sir!!

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs