AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
shelmer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-15-2011
Message 1 of 8 (238 Views)

Importing styles that use expressions

238 Views, 7 Replies
09-20-2011 11:25 AM

Hello,

I have a general line lable that uses an expresison.  When I import the style in to a new drawing, the expression does not follow.  I have also tried dragging and dropping the expression from the Settings tab in to the new drawing, but this does not work either.  Lastly, I tried to make a new expression with the same name in the new drawing, hoping my lable styles would then find it as they were still trying to reference the expression, but this didn't work either.

To fix, I have to both make a new expression, and then go in to each of my styles and re-refernce them to my new expression.

 

I have also tried the import styles feature that came with the Subscription Advantage Pack, but no difference - the expression is still left behind.

 

Is there some way I can get the expression into my drawings without recreating it every time?  This isn't a problem for my new drawings as I have the expression the a template they are started from, but for existing drawings that I am updating it's becoming a pain in the butt.

 

Any advice is appreciated!

-Stefan

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,314
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 8 (210 Views)

Re: Importing styles that use expressions

09-20-2011 06:36 PM in reply to: shelmer

Save an empty copy of the drawing that has the expression in it. Insert that into the old drawing using Insert command and the expression will come along.

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 3 of 8 (205 Views)

Re: Importing styles that use expressions

09-20-2011 06:51 PM in reply to: tcorey

Good solution, and probably what I would do.  But it comes at the potential cost of creating a bunch of "*.1" Point Groups, if you have a bunch of Point Groups in your template that exist in every drawing, and other similar "gotchas".  You can clean all that up, but the cleanup is annoying...  A "real fix" would be nice.

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 685
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 4 of 8 (195 Views)

Re: Importing styles that use expressions

09-20-2011 07:02 PM in reply to: shelmer

Are you using 2012?

There is a known issue with custom expressions and drainage structures moving from 2011 to 2012. I have a case logged 05878384 with Autodesk.

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
C3D 2014 (SP1)
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Contributor
shelmer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-15-2011
Message 5 of 8 (194 Views)

Re: Importing styles that use expressions

09-20-2011 07:06 PM in reply to: tcorey

In playing today, I did try importing my styles as a block, and it worked.  I then went to a co-worker to show how to do this...  I just opened a blank default c3d template, and imported the block, and it didn't work.  I'm pretty sure I've also had the expressions come across when dragging styles too, but I can't seem to duplicate that either.  At this point, I can't figure out why it works sometimes, and not others.

 

The real drag is drafters at my office just revert to exploding and doing label edits manually because it is a faster alternative to setting up expressions every time.

Contributor
shelmer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-15-2011
Message 6 of 8 (193 Views)

Re: Importing styles that use expressions

09-20-2011 07:12 PM in reply to: klugb

I'm using 2011, and the main expression I use is just to add a scale factor to the distances on line labels.  We are a land survey company, and much of our work must remain in UTM Grid, but we need the option of lableing the UTM grid linework with ground distances.  The expression is this:

 

Name: Scaled Distance

Expression: {General Line Segment}\0.999652

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 7 of 8 (187 Views)

Re: Importing styles that use expressions

09-20-2011 08:10 PM in reply to: klugb

There's more than that...

 

The Expressions have a whole slew of problems.  Some of them affect 2010 and earlier upgrading to 2011 and later.  Some of them affect 2011 and earlier upgrading to 2012 and later.  And EVERY version has a problem with "nested Expressions", i.e. a Style that uses an Expression that references another Expression.

 

Lots and lots o' problems...  You can work around them all, but it takes time to figure out all the issues...

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 685
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 8 of 8 (168 Views)

Re: Importing styles that use expressions

09-21-2011 07:15 AM in reply to: Sinc

That would be us. We created some nested expressions to automatically adjust grate elevations on structures in 2011 and then tried to move them up to 2012. Let's just say they didn't come through as planned.

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
C3D 2014 (SP1)
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs