Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Importing Shapefiles and Editing Features C3D 2014 (Need Help)

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
clemay
3092 Views, 12 Replies

Importing Shapefiles and Editing Features C3D 2014 (Need Help)

I am currently working on a new project in Civil 3D 2014.  I have been working with AutoCAD for years now, but I am new to C3D.  I have imported a couple shapefiles into my drawing and I have also Queried the insert via "Locate On Map" so I don't have the entire parish data inserted.  They are parcels and the other is a project location.  What I am having trouble understanding is that I keep seeing Check in Features or Check Out Features.  So I am not sure if I delete parcels or data within the features, is it completely gone?  Or am I checking it out.

I also would like to know how to possibly change the features to edit in the familiar AutoCAD commands.  Not sure how to change the styles for part or some of the features with possibly using them down the line.

I have attached a couple pics to this message so you can see the actual files I inserted and see a screenshot of my drawing/map and the Data Dialog box along with it.

Any feedback would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks,

Chris

C3D 2016 SP3
DELL Precision T3600
Intel Xeon E5-1650 @ 3.20GHz
NVIDIA QUADRO 4000 Dual Monitor
32 GB RAM / Win7 Pro 64-bit
12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
clemay
in reply to: clemay

Another thing I do not understand is when I look at the "Data Connect" box, I see my 2 shapefiles in the list, but I do not see them checked anymore in the other window where all of the files are shown.  Very confusing. I attached a pic of what I am trying to explain as well.

C3D 2016 SP3
DELL Precision T3600
Message 3 of 13
jporter