AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
pottsk1
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 1 of 9 (317 Views)
Accepted Solution

I have forgotten how to turn a polyline into a contour line.

317 Views, 8 Replies
03-20-2014 01:21 PM

I have an old AutoCAD R12 (not 2012) .dwg with polylines that have elevations on them. I have forgotten how to turn these into contour lines and build a surface out of them in 2013. I know this used to be an easy thing to do. I don't want to use the points or set up point groups in the drawing because these polylines are exactly how I want my surface to look. I need to do a plan and profile from this surface.

Thanks in advance,

Kim

Kim Potts
AutoCAD/Survey Tech
Merritt LS L.L.C..
743 Horizon Ct. Suite 100B
Grand Junction, CO 81506
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,537
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 9 (309 Views)

Re: I have forgotten how to turn a polyline into a contour line.

03-20-2014 01:35 PM in reply to: pottsk1

Hello Kim,

 

Create a new surface. It will be blank with no data in it.

 

On the Prospector tab of Toolspace, expand Surfaces, expand your new surface, expand Definition, right click Contours and pick Add...

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,840
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 9 (309 Views)

Re: I have forgotten how to turn a polyline into a contour line.

03-20-2014 01:39 PM in reply to: pottsk1

Off the top of my head I'd either convert them to Featurelines and add those to the Surface as breaklines. Or you could explode them and add them as lines.

 

cl.png

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,291
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 9 (281 Views)

Re: I have forgotten how to turn a polyline into a contour line.

03-20-2014 03:42 PM in reply to: pottsk1

You could use the command CONVERTPOLY to convert them to LWPolylines. But, I just found, there's no need. As Tim suggested, the Add Contours accepts both Light & Heavy polylines...

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,840
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 9 (268 Views)

Re: I have forgotten how to turn a polyline into a contour line.

03-20-2014 05:22 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Learned something new. I never realized you could add polylines as contours.

 

Allen

from my nook tablet

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 9 (251 Views)

Re: I have forgotten how to turn a polyline into a contour line.

03-20-2014 11:34 PM in reply to: pottsk1
isn't a polyline with an elevation just a contour line?
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Contributor
pottsk1
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 7 of 9 (189 Views)

Re: I have forgotten how to turn a polyline into a contour line.

03-24-2014 07:34 AM in reply to: tcorey

This is what I figured out. Thanks Tim! Thanks to everyone else who sent suggestions. I have a couple different ways to do this now.

Kim Potts
AutoCAD/Survey Tech
Merritt LS L.L.C..
743 Horizon Ct. Suite 100B
Grand Junction, CO 81506
Contributor
pottsk1
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 8 of 9 (187 Views)

Re: I have forgotten how to turn a polyline into a contour line.

03-24-2014 07:37 AM in reply to: tcorey
Thanks Tim!
Kim Potts
AutoCAD/Survey Tech
Merritt LS L.L.C..
743 Horizon Ct. Suite 100B
Grand Junction, CO 81506
Mentor
sfore
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎08-27-2007
Message 9 of 9 (175 Views)

Re: I have forgotten how to turn a polyline into a contour line.

03-24-2014 08:26 AM in reply to: pottsk1

Just a suggestion to keep drawing size down.... Run the polylines through 'Drawing Cleanup' before you add them to a surface.  Often, contours/polylines from old drawings have a ton of vertices not needed.  If you run them through drawing cleanup first using simplify objects, delete duplicates and weed polylines, your surface will be cleaner and drawing size will be less.  If you do this, delete duplicates should be done first.  Simplify and weeding should be done individually - not together as a group.  Be careful with Simplify objects, because I've seen contours change shape a few times for whatever reason.  The 'weeding polylines' alone will benefit your file size.

 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.