Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to set up large design files (Operating way too slow currently)

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
hidale
2025 Views, 9 Replies

How to set up large design files (Operating way too slow currently)

Hey Guys,

Currently I'm trying to figure out how to organize my civil 3D drawing files more efficiently.

I've been using civil 3D for about 2 years now, and learned, for the most part, how to use most of the design elements of the software.

Because i've started utilizing more of the software features (multiple surfaces, alignments,  profiles, corrdors, plan and profile sheets, etc.) i've found that my design files are starting to get bogged down and are becoming a pain to deal with because they run way too slow.

This has become a real headache when i'm trying to clean up my sheets, adding details, etc. and getting them ready for submittal.

I'm wondering if any of ya'll could point me in the right direction to maybe a thread/tutorial or have any advice on how to setup my design files to run more efficiently.

I've tried using data shortcuts before, but only for surfaces. I've poked around a little and read where folks suggest also putting alignments and corridors under data shortcuts as well. 

However, i'm concerned that switching between multiple drawing files to adjust specific elements of the design that I'm using as data shortcut's will become confusing/frustrating very quickly and leave room for errors.

Any help anyone could provide would be fantastic.

The specs of my machine/software are as follows:

Civil 3D 2012 Infrastrucutre Design Suite 64-bit

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K @ 3.4GHz (4Cpu's)

Ram: 8 GB

Video Card: Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 2GB

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Jay_B
in reply to: hidale