AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Mentor
dcouch
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎10-22-2003
Message 1 of 6 (189 Views)

How to label a part of an arc

189 Views, 5 Replies
03-31-2013 09:49 AM

I have C3D 2012.  I want to label a part of an arc.  The arc has 3 lines that intersect it.  I want to label the overall arc and the pieces of the arc.  The overall arc is not a problem.  How can I label the parts of the arc without breaking it up??

 

Dave

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,741
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 6 (161 Views)

Re: How to label a part of an arc

03-31-2013 03:58 PM in reply to: dcouch

4 parcels should do that, but seems like a lot of effort for the return

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,748
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 6 (154 Views)

Re: How to label a part of an arc

03-31-2013 04:21 PM in reply to: dcouch

The best thing I can think of is to copy and break and label. You could use parcels and have parcel segments connect to the arc and then do a spanning label on the one side (entire length) and regular labels on the other side (individual pieces) but that seems like a lot of extra effort if these aren't already parcel segments.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,197
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 4 of 6 (132 Views)

Re: How to label a part of an arc

03-31-2013 09:17 PM in reply to: dcouch

If you insert elevation points on the arc the labels can apply to the pieces between the elevation points. Likewise if lines in the same site intersect the arc.

 

Is there some reason that doesn't work guys?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,768
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 6 (112 Views)

Re: How to label a part of an arc

04-01-2013 07:40 AM in reply to: dcouch

Well.... You really can't without breaking it up. Might be able to in 2014. In 2013 you can label lines by points.

 

What I usually do is copy the arc to a no plot layer or give a copy a no plot color. Then break it in to the segments I want to label. You just have to redefine each arc if there is a change in the overall.

 

Allen Jessup


Civil 3D 2012 SP 2.1
Dell Precision T7400, Xeon CPU 3.16 GHz
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit,12 GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX 4600

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,197
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 6 (104 Views)

Re: How to label a part of an arc

04-01-2013 08:14 AM in reply to: dcouch

http://screencast.com/t/jRYiQAGTQW

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs