AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 1 of 9 (633 Views)

How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

633 Views, 8 Replies
01-11-2013 04:12 PM

2013 C3D crashes on me a little less than once a day.  Fatal errors and recoveries are also quite popular.  Today, the crash took Windows 7 down with it too - a rare treat.  

 

I have Autosave set to 20 minutes and also have the box for creating a backup file with each save checked under Options > Open and Save.

 

When Drawing Recovery Manager opened today, the dwg I was working on says it was last saved over 1.5 hours ago.  The bak file was last saved yesterday.  Usually, there's a sv$ file, but not this time.  The sv$ file is typically the most up-to-date file.

 

Shouldn't I see a "last saved" time and date of about 30 minutes ago for my dwg?  Same for the bak file?  Is there some other variable that I need to set?  

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 1,959
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 9 (620 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-11-2013 06:44 PM in reply to: johnthoreson

There is a known issue with the Publish command that may be causing your problem.  When the Publish operation is running the Autosave function is turned off to avoid conflicts.  Sometimes the Autosave is not reset properly, so it stays off.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 9 (609 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-12-2013 12:25 AM in reply to: johnthoreson
get into the habit of using ctrl+s to avoid problems.
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
Active Contributor
shunter62
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Message 4 of 9 (566 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-14-2013 08:37 AM in reply to: johnthoreson

Your Temporary File folder may be full of clutter & old files. If you are saving every 20 minutes in an 8 hour workday, that's 24 files per day. That's a lot of old stuff.

If you are a fanatical housekeeper and your temp files are removed often, then apologies in advance. Happy New Year.

Active Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 5 of 9 (555 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-14-2013 10:24 AM in reply to: shunter62

Thanks everyone for your input.  Sounds like it could be a number of things.  Using Ctrl + S more often is probably the best workaround.

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
Valued Mentor
Posts: 388
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 6 of 9 (544 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-14-2013 11:21 AM in reply to: johnthoreson

After crashing, it doesn't hurt to verify that your autosave setting (among others) is still the same as you intend it to be. Sometimes settings will change after (during?)a crash. Autodesk likes to test us like that.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎09-20-2006
Message 7 of 9 (534 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-14-2013 12:00 PM in reply to: johnthoreson

 

Here's a link to some potential procedures that may help alleviate some of the pain in this process.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Automatic-Save/td-p/2394334

Active Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 8 of 9 (481 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-28-2013 09:20 AM in reply to: KirkNoonan

Good point.  I've noticed that often the FILEDIA variable resets itself to 0 after a crash.  

 

As for Autosave, I'm trying out leaving it off and relying on using Ctrl + S instead.  During the last couple of crashes where Autosave was on and appeared to be working (in the middle of a command the program would pause while it saved), when I restarted the program the Autosave files that I thought were made 15 minutes ago simply weren't available.  

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
Active Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 9 of 9 (464 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-28-2013 12:17 PM in reply to: MSBryan

Thanks for the link!

John Thoreson
C3D 2013

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs