AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
johnthoreson
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 1 of 9 (790 Views)

How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

790 Views, 8 Replies
01-11-2013 04:12 PM

2013 C3D crashes on me a little less than once a day.  Fatal errors and recoveries are also quite popular.  Today, the crash took Windows 7 down with it too - a rare treat.  

 

I have Autosave set to 20 minutes and also have the box for creating a backup file with each save checked under Options > Open and Save.

 

When Drawing Recovery Manager opened today, the dwg I was working on says it was last saved over 1.5 hours ago.  The bak file was last saved yesterday.  Usually, there's a sv$ file, but not this time.  The sv$ file is typically the most up-to-date file.

 

Shouldn't I see a "last saved" time and date of about 30 minutes ago for my dwg?  Same for the bak file?  Is there some other variable that I need to set?  

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,084
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 9 (777 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-11-2013 06:44 PM in reply to: johnthoreson

There is a known issue with the Publish command that may be causing your problem.  When the Publish operation is running the Autosave function is turned off to avoid conflicts.  Sometimes the Autosave is not reset properly, so it stays off.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 9 (766 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-12-2013 12:25 AM in reply to: johnthoreson
get into the habit of using ctrl+s to avoid problems.
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
shunter62
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Message 4 of 9 (723 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-14-2013 08:37 AM in reply to: johnthoreson

Your Temporary File folder may be full of clutter & old files. If you are saving every 20 minutes in an 8 hour workday, that's 24 files per day. That's a lot of old stuff.

If you are a fanatical housekeeper and your temp files are removed often, then apologies in advance. Happy New Year.

Active Contributor
johnthoreson
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 5 of 9 (712 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-14-2013 10:24 AM in reply to: shunter62

Thanks everyone for your input.  Sounds like it could be a number of things.  Using Ctrl + S more often is probably the best workaround.

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 6 of 9 (701 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-14-2013 11:21 AM in reply to: johnthoreson

After crashing, it doesn't hurt to verify that your autosave setting (among others) is still the same as you intend it to be. Sometimes settings will change after (during?)a crash. Autodesk likes to test us like that.

Valued Contributor
MSBryan
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎09-20-2006
Message 7 of 9 (691 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-14-2013 12:00 PM in reply to: johnthoreson

 

Here's a link to some potential procedures that may help alleviate some of the pain in this process.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Automatic-Save/td-p/2394334

Active Contributor
johnthoreson
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 8 of 9 (638 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-28-2013 09:20 AM in reply to: KirkNoonan

Good point.  I've noticed that often the FILEDIA variable resets itself to 0 after a crash.  

 

As for Autosave, I'm trying out leaving it off and relying on using Ctrl + S instead.  During the last couple of crashes where Autosave was on and appeared to be working (in the middle of a command the program would pause while it saved), when I restarted the program the Autosave files that I thought were made 15 minutes ago simply weren't available.  

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
Active Contributor
johnthoreson
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 9 of 9 (621 Views)

Re: How is the Autosave function supposed to work?

01-28-2013 12:17 PM in reply to: MSBryan

Thanks for the link!

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.