Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I make an elevation surface using contour map and spot elevations?

19 REPLIES 19
Message 1 of 20
Anonymous
7787 Views, 19 Replies

How do I make an elevation surface using contour map and spot elevations?

Ok so I have a contour map with spot elevations of this area. I need to make a surface for this. How do I do this? I'm new to Civil 3D so please explain thoroughly. Thanks.

Attached is the drawing below I need to make a surface of. My goal is to alter this contour map and find the volume between the two surfaces. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks. 

19 REPLIES 19
Message 2 of 20
Hidden_Brain
in reply to: Anonymous

i do not have access to Civil 3D at the moment, so cuold not open your file to check contents. i can take a peek on tuesday. in the mean time, see if this helps:

http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2011/ENU/index.html

link to exercise 2 at the bottom shows how to add spots to create a surface. post back if you need additional help.

Message 3 of 20
neilyj666

The main problem you have is that the spot elevations need a bit of work to make them usable.

You need to select all the crosses that define the actrual location of the spot elevation (i.e. BLOCKNAME = topo???, FEATURE_CODE = SpotElevation), then explode to AutoCAD points, then make a surface from these points

neilyj (No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

AEC Collection 2024 UKIE (mainly Civil 3D UKIE and IW)
Win 11 Pro x64, 1Tb Primary SSD, 1Tb Secondary SSD
64Gb RAM Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-11855M CPU @ 3.2GHz
NVIDIA RTX A5000 16Gb, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell Inspiron 7760