AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
mattsears18
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-14-2011
Message 1 of 3 (175 Views)
Accepted Solution

How do I create a "no work zone" on a surface

175 Views, 2 Replies
03-06-2012 02:22 PM

I use RocTek for cut/fil calculations, but the program is old and basic, I'm trying to transition to Civil 3D 2012 right now. Typically I create "no work zones" around my building footprints, so that I can do a more detailed take-off in those areas for over-excavations and that sort of thing. Right now I'm using Civil 3D to create an existing surface, a proposed surface, and then a volume from between the two. I thought if I just traced my proposed contours over the existing within the building footprint that I would get what I was looking for. However, analysis of the cut/fill volume shows that there are still some changes being made around the edges of the building.

 

Is there a specific way to make a proposed surface, but leave parts of the existing surface untouched?

 

See attached photo. The upper middle portion of the screen is where the building is (forgot to turn on layer). You can kind of see how I've run the proposed contours over the existing, however there's still cut areas within the building footprint.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,877
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 3 (163 Views)

Re: How do I create a "no work zone" on a surface

03-06-2012 03:26 PM in reply to: mattsears18

Im not sure if I understand your question, but you can add hide boundaries to the FG surface to not have included in the volume report.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
jefflambert9091
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎09-12-2008
Message 3 of 3 (115 Views)

Re: How do I create a "no work zone" on a surface

03-07-2012 06:23 AM in reply to: mattsears18

There are different boundary types. Outer, Show, Hide and Data clip along with using destructive and non destructive break lines. If you search for Boundaries in the help they explain them all. To add to the menu,  you can look into masks. This should give you the info you need to do what you need to.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.