AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
Brad737
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Message 1 of 10 (315 Views)
Accepted Solution

Help on Choosing AutoCAD3D Civil or AutoCAD LT

315 Views, 9 Replies
09-30-2013 05:48 AM

Dear AutoCAD community,

 

I have a question;

 

Which 3D version of AutoCAD do I need to import a .txt file of x,y,z coordinates from my GPS unit (Leica GPS900)

I am under the impression I need either AutoCAD Civil 3D or AutoCAD LT... Not sure which would be more practical....

 

The CAD product will be used only for importing GPS data, and used to create 3D models of our crushed rock stockpiles.

Basically, I would like to plot all the points taken into a 3D model space, then get area and volumes, for each indivdual stockpile/block.

 

Im apologize in advance if this has been answered numerous time already. 

 

Best Regards.

Brad

Attached is an example of a  .txt file I'd like to plot out into Auto3D 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,206
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 10 (308 Views)

Re: Help on Choosing AutoCAD3D Civil or AutoCAD LT

09-30-2013 06:28 AM in reply to: Brad737

Civil 3D.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Member
Brad737
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Message 3 of 10 (278 Views)

Re: Help on Choosing AutoCAD3D Civil or AutoCAD LT

09-30-2013 08:07 AM in reply to: TRogers

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 10 (247 Views)

Re: Help on Choosing AutoCAD3D Civil or AutoCAD LT

09-30-2013 11:02 AM in reply to: Brad737
there are other software packages that will do this relatively trivial task - would you expect to do other things with the software?
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Member
Brad737
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Message 5 of 10 (216 Views)

Re: Help on Choosing AutoCAD3D Civil or AutoCAD LT

10-01-2013 12:31 PM in reply to: neilyj

Well the main purpose is for the crushed rock stockpile volumes at our Quarry.

As well, I would like to create a virtual representaion of the cliff face we blast for rock.. So i'd go and take points with my GPS around the perimeter of the top deck, then along the floor/cliff line. Then create an orthographic representation for my Drill guy, (He uses a drill that can be angled, and I think the drawing would help him plan out his blast bore holes.

But again that would just be point import in CAD 3D..

I might use it on my own for various design applications. For example, I like to draw in CAD...for fun once in a while.

I guess I'd mostly need it for importing point data from my GPS, and for estimating from 3D CAD drawings.

 

I have been looking around and have found AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 for about $1500.

Think I saw a 2010 Civil 3D for about $1300.

 

If you have any other suggestions Im all ears...er eyes :smileyhappy:

 

 

   

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 10 (208 Views)

Re: Help on Choosing AutoCAD3D Civil or AutoCAD LT

10-01-2013 01:05 PM in reply to: Brad737

That seems suspiciously cheap for Civil 3D; not sure what the pricing structure is for old versions or Autodesk policy on availability of new seats for old software but you'd be unlikely to get a competitor's product that cheap - current version Civil 3D 2014 is $6000-$7000 I'd guess. 

 

If you can source a legal 2012 copy for the price you mention then it can handle the tasks you've outlined (perhaps using a sledgehammer to crack a nut) but as this is an Autodesk forum I won't advertise competitor's products (and I'm not familiar with alternative US software anyway)

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,056
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 7 of 10 (193 Views)

Re: Help on Choosing AutoCAD3D Civil or AutoCAD LT

10-01-2013 02:50 PM in reply to: Brad737

Depending where you are located, you may not be able to activate that software.  I can guarantee its not from AutoDesk or a reseller, as AutoDesk sells the most current version, and allows access to a couple of previous releases with purchase of subscription.  Regardless of where you get it, you still need to activate it with AutoDesk before you can use it.  Some jurisdictions do not force a software publisher to allow resold software to be activated.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Member
Brad737
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Message 8 of 10 (174 Views)

Re: Help on Choosing AutoCAD3D Civil or AutoCAD LT

10-02-2013 03:34 AM in reply to: Brad737

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 Retail Box - 1 User

Price: $1,550.00
Item Number: 237D1-ABN111-1001
Manufacturer: Autodesk
Manufacturer Part No: 237D1-ABN111-1001
Shipping only within the continental US and Canada

 

This is being sold on a software solutions website.

 

Are you saying, I would not be able to run this software without consent from autodesk ?

Are you also saying, in order to use this 2012 version, I actually need to buy a copy of 2014 first ?

And then get licensing permission from Autodesk before using the 2012 version ?

I'm a bit confused here.

 

Wouldn't the "permissions" to use the 2012 version be found in the box, like with a registration key for example ?

 

 

Community Manager
camilo.lemos
Posts: 901
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 9 of 10 (169 Views)

Re: Help on Choosing AutoCAD3D Civil or AutoCAD LT

10-02-2013 04:55 AM in reply to: Brad737

Hi Brad, 

 

Just wanted to add a few points to this thread. I hope I won't turn this too much into a stern legal discussion, but I feel I need to provide you with a bit more background to help you make an informed purchase decision.

 

As neilyj and dgorsman mentioned above, Autodesk and our authorized resellers (this is our reseller locator tool if you'd like to find one near you) only sell the most current version of our products.

 

I'll refrain from passing judgement on the website you got this offer from, but I must tell you that any software bought from parties other than Autodesk or our authorized resellers must go through a transfer of license approval process (since autodesk licenses are, per our End User License Agreement, nontransferable) and there is no way we can guarantee that a Transfer of License process will be approved - this basically means that there is a possibility that you may not be able to activate and use the product.

 

Regarding the purchase of 2014 to use 2012: current version products purchased with a Subscription Contract enable our subscription customers to request a Previous Version License to use products up to 3 versions back from the current one (this applies to most but not all of our products, I'd encourage you to have a look at this). This currently is the only method 100% supported by Autodesk to aquire older version products.

 

I hope this helps and let me know if you have any more questions!

 

 



Camilo Lemos
Member
Brad737
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Message 10 of 10 (152 Views)

Re: Help on Choosing AutoCAD3D Civil or AutoCAD LT

10-02-2013 06:45 AM in reply to: Brad737
Thanks Camilo... wow, yeah ill have to look over the links you provided.
Thanks for the information.
Will post again after I've looked over the link info, if I have any further questions.



You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs