AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
d_hadley
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 1 of 8 (265 Views)
Accepted Solution

Headaches with publish and civil3d labels shifting on output

265 Views, 7 Replies
10-25-2013 09:20 AM

Looked around, seen many people with similar issues, but none of the possible solutions seem to be helping.  I have a large school job with a large network of storm pipes.  My pipes are in another drawing with data references into my sheets drawing, then structure/pipe labels added in the sheets drawing.   It seems the bigger the drawing got, the more problems I had.  First, I found if I synchronized pipes while in layout tabs, it would shift the labels (dragged state) away from the structures.  I would then have to go to model space and re-synchronize and the snapped back to their object and publish sheets would be fine.  As of recent though, now it shows the labels fine, but when I go to publish (to pdf), as the process begins, I can see the labels shift off the structures, and once publish done, snap back.  Of course the output shows the label arrowhead/text shifted away.

 

So I have done all the basics - I don't plot in background, I have tried publish to dwf, same problem, but I can plot 1 sheet at a time dwg to pdf and its fine.   Only relates to publish.

 

I thought maybe it was because I had a cover sheet at 1:750 and the rest of my work at 1:250, and it would snap to the outside of the symbol scaled in the 1:750 setting.  I separated the cover sheet to its own DWG so I was strictly dealing in one scale for 1 drawing...no resolution.  Any thoughts?  Attached a view of what is happening.

 

thx

Active Contributor
d_hadley
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 2 of 8 (210 Views)

Re: Headaches with publish and civil3d labels shifting on output

11-01-2013 10:34 AM in reply to: d_hadley

any thoughts on this one?  As I'm getting back into the job again, the headaches start all over!

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,476
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 3 of 8 (188 Views)

Re: Headaches with publish and civil3d labels shifting on output

11-01-2013 08:23 PM in reply to: d_hadley

You must be pulling your hair out. 

 

What happens if you lock the layers that control the labels?

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,222
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 4 of 8 (182 Views)

Re: Headaches with publish and civil3d labels shifting on output

11-02-2013 12:00 AM in reply to: d_hadley

I belive it is related to having different viewport scales.

 

I ran into this behavior with a sewer forcemain project. I created an alignment and layout profiles for the pipe. Then I used the plan production tools to create plan and profile sheets. Whenever I went to the layouts the profiles were always shifted relative to the grid in the layouts. I had to run regen a couple of times in each layout to get them synchronized before plotting.

 

I submitted a support request and was told this was a known issue. I have a post about this somewhere so I'll paste a link when I have time to find it.

 

There is no solution that I know of.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,222
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 5 of 8 (178 Views)

Re: Headaches with publish and civil3d labels shifting on output

11-02-2013 12:04 AM in reply to: Neilw

I'll retract my comments for now as I'm not sure they are related. I have experienced the behavior shown in your screen caps. I don't recall a solution but it might related to the style for dragged labels.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Active Contributor
d_hadley
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 6 of 8 (153 Views)

Re: Headaches with publish and civil3d labels shifting on output

11-02-2013 08:07 PM in reply to: tcorey

yeah, definitely going a little donald ducky on it.  I haven't tried locking the layers and will give that a try on Monday.  Otherwise, actually looking back at the clip, I see that the leader to the pipes are actually fine.   It really seems related to the structures themselves.  Whether problems with the blocks that created them, or related to the different scales (although like I said, I have now separated so only one scale used in the dwg).   I do find it odd also that the drawing started out fine and only got into issues as the level of detail grew!

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,222
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 7 of 8 (146 Views)

Re: Headaches with publish and civil3d labels shifting on output

11-02-2013 10:59 PM in reply to: d_hadley

Now that you mention the structure scales I think that is it. Go to your structure plan view style settings and see what you have set for the symbol scale. If it is by percent of zoom scale or some similar setting that varies the scale, try setting it to something static.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Active Contributor
d_hadley
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 8 of 8 (117 Views)

Re: Headaches with publish and civil3d labels shifting on output

11-04-2013 09:27 AM in reply to: Neilw

and tcorey is the winner!   Locking the layer actually did the job.  Doesn't explain 'why' its happening, but at this point, I don't really care!  ha   Thx much for all the input

 

(btw, I did check the plan view scaling and it was fixed to page scale (and I also checked absolute and that didn't do anything either))

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs