Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP! LONG CORRIDOR

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Razzmatazz
894 Views, 6 Replies

HELP! LONG CORRIDOR

I'm supposed to design a 248 km alignment but i've never done such a long alignment before. How do i break it down and also have two people work on the alignment at the same time? How do i go i go about it? data shortcuts or what? Could someone conversant with the process please break down into simple steps. Your assistance will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Razz

Civil 3D 2013

i5, 8 GB RAM

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
neilyj666
in reply to: Razzmatazz

248 km...??? Good luck with that with 8Gb RAM...;)

I've never done anywhere near that but I seem to recall reading somewhere that 15km is regarded as a practical usability limit. Data shortcuts would be the way to go but It also will depend on the complexity of the corridor and existing topography

neilyj (No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

AEC Collection 2024 UKIE (mainly Civil 3D UKIE and IW)
Win 11 Pro x64, 1Tb Primary SSD, 1Tb Secondary SSD
64Gb RAM Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-11855M CPU @ 3.2GHz
NVIDIA RTX A5000 16Gb, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell Inspiron 7760
Message 3 of 7
sboon

I haven't done one quite as long as this, but I have at done at least 15 roads that were broken into segments to make it possible for multiple people to work on the project and to keep things within reasonable limits for the software/hardware.  My process has evolved over the years.  Generally it goes something like this.