Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grading vs Bounderies

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
j_zapata_99
555 Views, 8 Replies

Grading vs Bounderies

Why would you use a boundery for a buiding or other types of foundation pads?

I am still new to Civil 3D, and was wondering why you wouldn't use a grading surface to create the foundation pad, unless there is a way to change that boundery into grading?

I have ran through some tutorials and in them they use bouneries for the foundation of buildings, but in some cases the surface is not level, or should i say the grading, elevation is not level. Wouldn't you need to know what you plan to cut and fill for that foundation?

Does a boundery do that?

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

Use a Feature Line, right-click on it and Add to Surface as a Breakline.

Todd Rogers
Message 3 of 9

Addding the boundery as a breakline will do what grading does?

Can you change a boundery to a feature line?

Message 4 of 9

You can create a Feature Line from Object.  Click on the Feature Line, right-click and select Elevation Editor.  There you can assign the elevation to the Feature line (FF elevation of slab). 

Todd Rogers
Message 5 of 9
Neilw_05
in reply to: j_zapata_99

I don't quite understand your question. When you refer to a boundary are you talking about the building outline, a property boundary or a surface model boundary? Also are you talking about computing volumes for the footings or basement or for slope grading around the perimeter of the building?