Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grading multi-level platforms

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
Andy64
3382 Views, 10 Replies

Grading multi-level platforms

I am pretty new to the Civil 3D scene, and am having some trouble with grading a very steep site. What I have is a series of complex multi-level building platforms that I am trying to get grading volumes for. They are all cut fairly deeply into the steep hillside (i.e. no fill to speak of). I have created a grading criteria for a steep cut, but it sometimes just fails to perform the grading, without any explanation.

Also, because some of my platforms share a boundary with another platform which may be 2 or 3 metres higher, how do I get both platforms to stay flat - as soon as the grading package detects a common boundary, it only seems to allow one elevation along that boundary, regardless of whether there are two separate objects at different levels.
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
noor.azhar
in reply to: Andy64

YES. I would also like to know how to do grading for STEEP slopes SHARING boundary side-by-side for each platform. This is common engineering task for residential of terrace housing. Attached is a simple image of what it is supposed to be. But this image DOES NOT involve grading feature at all.
Message 3 of 11
C3D_RickGraham

Like LDT, you cannot have vertical surfaces, so you muust offset the slopes
by some minute amount (I use .001). I would start with one feature polyline
at 135 .00 elevation and then use the stepped offset to get the new
elevation and build like that.

Rick

wrote in message news:5782994@discussion.autodesk.com...
YES. I would also like to know how to do grading for STEEP slopes SHARING
boundary side-by-side for each platform. This is common engineering task for