AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-18-2005
Message 1 of 9 (61 Views)

Grading - Simple

61 Views, 8 Replies
04-27-2005 07:15 AM
I am having some trouble getting a the grading to work on a project. I have all the criteria setup for what i want to be graded...

For example.
I have a square parking lot. I have a criteria of 3:1 on cut or fill. But it does not work It gives me an error saying

"Please note some or all of the footprint didnt grade to surface"

Any help would be great!

thanks
*Brian Hailey
Message 2 of 9 (61 Views)

Re: Grading - Simple

04-27-2005 07:52 AM in reply to: mstg007
Hi,

It sounds like some of the grading may try to daylight beyond the boundaries
of your surface. Perhaps posting the drawing will help us determine the
problem.

--
Brian Hailey
LDT2005
C3D2005
XP Pro - SP 2
P4 2.8GHz
1.00 GB of RAM


wrote in message news:4827209@discussion.autodesk.com...
>I am having some trouble getting a the grading to work on a project. I have
>all the criteria setup for what i want to be graded...
>
> For example.
> I have a square parking lot. I have a criteria of 3:1 on cut or fill. But
> it does not work It gives me an error saying
>
> "Please note some or all of the footprint didnt grade to surface"
>
> Any help would be great!
>
> thanks
Valued Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-18-2005
Message 3 of 9 (61 Views)

Re: Grading - Simple

04-27-2005 08:41 AM in reply to: mstg007
Here is the drawing... Do you think I could get your email if i have some questions?...
I greatly! Apreciate the help!
*Brian Hailey
Message 4 of 9 (61 Views)

Re: Grading - Simple

04-27-2005 09:36 AM in reply to: mstg007
Hi,

Could you explain what it is you were trying to do? I see the boundary
feature line but it's at an elevation of 0.

--
Brian Hailey
LDT2005
C3D2005
XP Pro - SP 2
P4 2.8GHz
1.00 GB of RAM


wrote in message news:4827420@discussion.autodesk.com...
Here is the drawing... Do you think I could get your email if i have some
questions?...
I greatly! Apreciate the help!
Valued Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-18-2005
Message 5 of 9 (61 Views)

Re: Grading - Simple

04-27-2005 09:55 AM in reply to: mstg007
I am trying to grade the building pad from finish floor elev to 3:1 to tie into existing grade / surface.

After i do that, I was going to transfer all my 2D line work to a feature line and grade the site.

Am i going about the right way?

thanks
*Glen Albert
Message 6 of 9 (61 Views)

Re: Grading - Simple

04-27-2005 10:41 AM in reply to: mstg007
I had a look at the drawing but I don't see what you are trying to grade
from - everything is at a 0.0 elev. You'll need a polyline around the
building at the correct pad elevation. The surface elevs are around 850, so
your building pad should be somewhere in the 800's.

Even if you have that, your surface has a hole in it so there will still be
a problem with trying to project a 3:1 slope to the surface..

Glen



wrote in message news:4827596@discussion.autodesk.com...
>I am trying to grade the building pad from finish floor elev to 3:1 to tie
>into existing grade / surface.
>
> After i do that, I was going to transfer all my 2D line work to a feature
> line and grade the site.
>
> Am i going about the right way?
>
> thanks
Valued Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-18-2005
Message 7 of 9 (61 Views)

Re: Grading - Simple

04-27-2005 11:01 AM in reply to: mstg007
I have raised the elevation of the pad. and I have also made the site bigger.

I still have no luck with it I get the same error as above...

What are the typical setups / steps that need to be taken... Maybe I am doing somethign different or wrong.

thanks again
*Glen Albert
Message 8 of 9 (61 Views)

Re: Grading - Simple

04-27-2005 12:08 PM in reply to: mstg007
Did you should eliminate the hole in the surface?
What is your building pad elevation?

Glen

wrote in message news:4827738@discussion.autodesk.com...
>I have raised the elevation of the pad. and I have also made the site
>bigger.
>
> I still have no luck with it I get the same error as above...
>
> What are the typical setups / steps that need to be taken... Maybe I am
> doing somethign different or wrong.
>
> thanks again
Valued Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-18-2005
Message 9 of 9 (61 Views)

Re: Grading - Simple

04-27-2005 12:49 PM in reply to: mstg007
You are right about the pad... and the hole. FIXED! works!

What do you do if you have a proposed and existing surface and you want to see them both with with the cut and fill if on the new grading of the site in 3d? do i need to mask the proposed on the existing?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs