Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grading Hell(p)

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
266 Views, 9 Replies

Grading Hell(p)

Hi everyone,

I've been using Civil 3D for about 4 months now with pretty good success. I normally design underground power transmission lines, so I'm very familiar with Alignments and Profiles. I was recently asked to do a grading design for a new substation. The substation will be on two tiers, which will be separated by a retaining wall of some sort. I've watched some of the webinars and done the tutorials, so I'm somewhat familiar with basic grading.

This is my first grading project, so I'm trying to figure out what sort of deliverables I need to produce and what the drawings need to look like. Does anyone have any useful links to drawings that I could look at, and how the heck do you create a retaining wall??

Thanks in advance,

Ian
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
kcobabe
in reply to: Anonymous

Well since I use to design substations I think I might be able to help you here.

First off you will need to know the TOCs of the foundations for the equipment going into the substation (Xfmr Pad, Bus supports, Cap Bank Fdns, PCBs Fdns, etc...)

You will then need to know where the control house (If your company uses one, which most do, but there are smaller utilites that use a metalclad SWGR and enclose relaying). You will also need to know where they are going to bend the bus as this is important for getting your grade break locations.

After that you will need to know which side the site will drain towards, driveways, sidewalks, landscaping, etc...

You will need to know the parcel dimensions.

After you have all of that information you can start.