AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,691
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 11 of 122 (7,701 Views)

Re: Google Earth utilities with R2013 products

04-06-2012 07:47 AM in reply to: thepworth

thepworth wrote:

I've actually called Google tech support in the past regarding a site license for a former employer.  I was told that "for any commerical gain" from their point of view included preliminary design image use even if we didn't plot the image in our final production set.


Indeed....but how would they know....??? Besides the GE imagery is a bit dodgy positionally anyway - if I need a decent aerial photo I'd buy one from a supplier

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 12 of 122 (7,698 Views)

Re: Google Earth utilities with R2013 products

04-06-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: neilyj

True - if you take a single image capture, there seems to be "radial falloff" if you try to mosaic images.  When I've tried "plex.earth tools" for ge/Acad, they've managed to do something with the API to "fool" GE into sending information as if each position is at "center of image" so that I don't see the radial effects using imagery imported through their tools.  I should touch base with Lambros (unless he chimes in here) to see what 2013 is doing to him & his add-on.


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 695
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 13 of 122 (7,696 Views)

Re: Google Earth utilities with R2013 products

04-06-2012 07:55 AM in reply to: neilyj

And to add to what neilyj said,

 

Most of the DTM files used within GE are readily available for free in most case. NONE of the info GE has is proprietary, most can even be obtain from USGS at no cost. However in some case some conversion is required. Really all the import GE function was doing, was making it easier to obtain already available information.

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Contributor
BHFH
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-06-2011
Message 14 of 122 (7,575 Views)

Re: Google Earth utilities with R2013 products

04-07-2012 03:13 AM in reply to: dsimeone

This might be the reason why it was dumped: https://developers.google.com/maps/faq#usagelimits 

 

TL:smileyvery-happy:R > It would cost Autodesk a bucket load to keep the GE import feature.

*Expert Elite*
arturopolanco
Posts: 407
Registered: ‎08-22-2010
Message 15 of 122 (7,572 Views)

Re: Google Earth utilities with R2013 products

04-07-2012 04:57 AM in reply to: BHFH

Really is money

 

.....?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 16 of 122 (7,531 Views)

Re: Google Earth utilities with R2013 products

04-07-2012 10:32 PM in reply to: rl_jackson

rl_jackson wrote:

And to add to what neilyj said,

 

Most of the DTM files used within GE are readily available for free in most case. NONE of the info GE has is proprietary, most can even be obtain from USGS at no cost. However in some case some conversion is required. Really all the import GE function was doing, was making it easier to obtain already available information.


I think this is a key point.  Hopefully Autodesk is looking at options for simpllifying data import from the free data, and is telling Google "you only wish"....

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 17 of 122 (7,530 Views)

Re: Google Earth utilities with R2013 products

04-07-2012 10:37 PM in reply to: Sinc

Although I'm also curious as to when Google's mantra switched from "Do no evil" to "Suck every possible dollar via any possible mechanism"....

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
arturopolanco
Posts: 407
Registered: ‎08-22-2010
Message 18 of 122 (7,511 Views)

Re: Google Earth utilities with R2013 products

04-08-2012 04:47 AM in reply to: Sinc

GOOGLE EARTH substituted by NASA WORLD WIND

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 763
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 19 of 122 (7,509 Views)

Re: Google Earth utilities with R2013 products

04-08-2012 04:50 AM in reply to: Sinc

This part is probably relevant to civil 3d.

 

Particularly the part about


Which APIs are affected by the usage limits?

The Maps API usage limits apply only to the following APIs:

  •     Google Maps JavaScript API v2
  •     Google Maps JavaScript API v3
  •     Google Maps API for Flash
  •     Google Maps Image APIs

The Google Earth API, and native Maps APIs for mobile platforms such as Android and iOS are not affected. Use of the embed feature of Google Maps, and other Google products that offer an embed feature that includes a map, are not affected by these limits.


Considering the export to google earth function should in theory, without seeing the source or examining the network calls, access the google earth program, how is google able to tell the difference between civil 3d using google earth and an average user using google earth?

 

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 20 of 122 (7,411 Views)

Re: Google Earth utilities with R2013 products

04-09-2012 10:18 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

The other part to this is publishing (creating) the kml files.  This was a very handy way to track our projects.  Since we have licensed copies of GE Pro, we used the kml files from a network location to create some planning documents.  I like the tool from this blog http://autodesk.typepad.com/transportation/2012/03/autocad-mapcivil-3d-google-map.html   to locate my project in Google Maps, it falls short of the final goal, though.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs