AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 24 (882 Views)

Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

882 Views, 23 Replies
05-30-2013 12:10 AM

From this thread http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Geotechnical-Module-Stability-in-2014/td-p/3940095 the current (30 May) advice from Autodesk is to uninstall the Geotechnical module due to "performance issues"

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
Ed.McGriskin
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎12-09-2010
Message 2 of 24 (843 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

05-30-2013 08:32 AM in reply to: neilyj
Thanks for the heads up. I haven't had any issues yet but I don't use it a whole lot.
Ed McGriskin, P.Eng.
Project Engineer @ HUSSON
Civil 3D 2013 - Windows 7(64 bit)

Remember to accept the solution so others can find the solution also.
Contributor
jtelder
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎11-02-2008
Message 3 of 24 (831 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

05-30-2013 09:16 AM in reply to: neilyj

I did the uninstall and afterwards opening Civil 3D gave me a message about an error loading a code on line something or other(guess I should have written it down?). I would ok it and things seemed ok, except for a couple of fatal error crashes. After several incidents, I did a repair on the Civil 3D install, and now no error  on loading and no crashes.

 

If you do the uninstall, do a repair on your Civil 3D and restart.

JT
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 24 (778 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

05-30-2013 01:49 PM in reply to: jtelder
Thanks for this - I haven't uninstalled yet as I still need to derive some information using the module.

It seems to perform better if only used in Top View
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Employee
jessica.tarr
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-11-2007
Message 5 of 24 (680 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-18-2013 06:56 AM in reply to: neilyj

We are pleased to announce the release of Geotechnical Module v1 for both Civil 3D 2013 and Infrastructure Design Suite 2014.

 

These are now available for download on Subscription Center along with release notes. Please uninstall any previous version of the Geotechnical Module prior to installing Geotechnical Module v1.

 

Thank you!

Jessica L. Tarr
Product Manager
Civil 3D | Infrastructure Design Suite | Plant Design Suite
Autodesk, Inc.
jessica.tarr@autodesk.com

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 24 (674 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-18-2013 07:19 AM in reply to: jessica.tarr
Thanks for this but I can't see it in Subs centre yet?
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Employee
jessica.tarr
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-11-2007
Message 7 of 24 (671 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-18-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: neilyj

For the 2013 version, you will find it listed under Civil 3D Productivity Tools. For 2014, you will need to have either IDS Premium or IDS Ultimate and chose to "View All Product Enhancements". Then you will see the Geotechnical Module listed as a link. When you click that link, the page with the updated downloads will appear.

 

Let me know if you still can't find it, I can see it when I log in with a simulated customer account.

Jessica L. Tarr
Product Manager
Civil 3D | Infrastructure Design Suite | Plant Design Suite
Autodesk, Inc.
jessica.tarr@autodesk.com

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 8 of 24 (666 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-18-2013 07:42 AM in reply to: jessica.tarr
Thanks for this - found it now
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 24 (663 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-18-2013 07:54 AM in reply to: jessica.tarr

A good start - no idea what this means or how to get around it...:smileyfrustrated:

 

2013-06-18 15_52_19-AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 - [666636.dwg].jpg

 

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Employee
jessica.tarr
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-11-2007
Message 10 of 24 (659 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-18-2013 07:59 AM in reply to: neilyj

Can you tell me when this is appearing? Is it as you install the geotechnical module or is it a specific command you are using?

Jessica L. Tarr
Product Manager
Civil 3D | Infrastructure Design Suite | Plant Design Suite
Autodesk, Inc.
jessica.tarr@autodesk.com

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.