AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,688
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 11 of 24 (515 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-18-2013 08:24 AM in reply to: jessica.tarr

I restarted C3D and then imported CSV's and it crashed - will be testing over the next day or so to see if I can repeat

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
GaryMorin8439
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎11-09-2006
Message 12 of 24 (505 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-18-2013 09:47 AM in reply to: neilyj

Hi 

 

Can you confirm you uninstalled the original module before installing the new version?

 

thanks

 

Gary

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,688
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 13 of 24 (491 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-18-2013 11:36 AM in reply to: GaryMorin8439
Confirmed that I closed Civil 3D, uninstalled the original version and installed V1

PS do the csv files still need to be called GEOL and HOLE in V1?

PPS It'd be good to be able to Shift or Ctrl click when turning borehole etc strips on/off
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
GaryMorin8439
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎11-09-2006
Message 14 of 24 (489 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-18-2013 12:37 PM in reply to: neilyj
Now the Geol and Hole files can be names whatever you want.

By Shift or Ctrl click do you mean to be able to be toggle of and on multiple boreholes. If so that is an enhancement we have planned the HoleBASE SI extension for AutoCAD Civil 3D.

Gary
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,688
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 15 of 24 (472 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-18-2013 03:29 PM in reply to: neilyj
yes, the standard Windows functionality e.g selecting files in explorer. I saw the recent webinar for Holebase civil extension but I don't need that level of functionality although the update schedule is better than the geotech module. presumably this recent V1 release is to iron out the initial problems and we wont see any more updates until 2015 product release...?
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Contributor
GaryMorin8439
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎11-09-2006
Message 16 of 24 (454 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-19-2013 01:57 AM in reply to: neilyj

The SDF file not found message, is due to a problem with styles sometimes seen in the previous release. unfortunately the new installer can't always correct the problem automatically. if you experienced the problem please following these steps to re-initialise the styles database:

  1. Confirm in add remove programs that the version of the AutoDESK Geotechnical Module is 1.12.1.9. and that there is only one version of the Geotechnical Module listed.
  2. Ensure AutoCAD Civil 3D is not running and closed.
  3. Navigate to C:\ProgramData\Keynetix\ and rename the folder AutodeskGeotechnicalModule to be AutodeskGeotechnicalModule.BACKUP
  4. Restart AutoCAD Civil 3D
  5. Following full initialisation of AutoCAD Civil 3D and the Geotechnical Module Plugin check the following folder has been regenerated C:\ProgramData\Keynetix\AutodeskGeotechnicalModule and confirm that it contains a SQL Server Compact file called styles.
  6. You should now be able to use the Styles and Hatch Manager and share Geotechnical styles between drawings

 

This should solve the SDF problem.

Regards

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,688
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 17 of 24 (448 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-19-2013 04:17 AM in reply to: GaryMorin8439

Done all this and imported csv (remaned so not GEOL and HOLE) and Civil 3D crashed...:smileysad: I restarted and opened the dwg from the recovery Manager and all seemed ok...:smileyfrustrated:

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Employee
jessica.tarr
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-11-2007
Message 18 of 24 (435 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-19-2013 06:50 AM in reply to: neilyj

Did you send the CER when you crashed? I just want to be sure I track down where it landed.

 

Also, in response to your earlier question: "presumably this recent V1 release is to iron out the initial problems and we wont see any more updates until 2015 product release...?" While I can't comment on the availablilty of future updates, I can tell you that we will update modules as we see necessary for both critical defect fixes and/or if we determine there is high value fucntionality to release to the market rather than only on an annual basis.

 

Jessica L. Tarr
Product Manager
Civil 3D | Infrastructure Design Suite | Plant Design Suite
Autodesk, Inc.
jessica.tarr@autodesk.com

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,688
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 19 of 24 (433 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-19-2013 06:56 AM in reply to: jessica.tarr

Thanks for this - there was no CER as it wasn't that sort of crash - see screenshot.

 


jessica.tarr wrote:

Did you send the CER when you crashed? I just want to be sure I track down where it landed.

 

Also, in response to your earlier question: "presumably this recent V1 release is to iron out the initial problems and we wont see any more updates until 2015 product release...?" While I can't comment on the availablilty of future updates, I can tell you that we will update modules as we see necessary for both critical defect fixes and/or if we determine there is high value fucntionality to release to the market rather than only on an annual basis.

 


There are certainly two things that should be done immediately to increase the functionality of this module - how/where can I communicate this information to Autodesk?

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Employee
jessica.tarr
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-11-2007
Message 20 of 24 (418 Views)

Re: Geotechnical Module recommended to be uninstalled

06-19-2013 10:07 AM in reply to: neilyj

Glad it wasn't that kind of crash...

 

You can send me the improvement requests for Geotechnical Module directly and I will get them logged.

 

Thanks!

Jessica L. Tarr
Product Manager
Civil 3D | Infrastructure Design Suite | Plant Design Suite
Autodesk, Inc.
jessica.tarr@autodesk.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs