AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-20-2014
Message 1 of 10 (131 Views)
Accepted Solution

Generic Link Slope Doesn't follow Inputted Value

131 Views, 9 Replies
02-20-2014 07:03 AM

I have gotten lots of help reading this forum about generic links and how they don't always perform in the same in layout mode as in the corridor but this is baffling me.

 

I built a generic link with a slope of 3% as shown below.

t1.png

 

 

 

However in the Corridor it builds the link at 2%.

 

 

t2.png

 

 

Any Help would be appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 1,949
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 10 (111 Views)

Re: Generic Link Slope Doesn't follow Inputted Value

02-20-2014 06:36 PM in reply to: hwally

Does this happen for all corridor sections or just this one.  Any corridor targets in use?  Any parameter overrides?

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-20-2014
Message 3 of 10 (96 Views)

Re: Generic Link Slope Doesn't follow Inputted Value

02-21-2014 06:42 AM in reply to: sboon

This happens for all corridor sections. I completely rebuilt my corridor (again with generic links) and the same thing happend again.

There are corridor targets but only for the daylight link, not for these generic links.

There are no parameter overrides.

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,066
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 4 of 10 (90 Views)

Re: Generic Link Slope Doesn't follow Inputted Value

02-21-2014 07:06 AM in reply to: hwally

Can you post your dwg file?  If it's too large to post, then make a copy of the file and delete EVERYTHING that's not required for the surface definition, profile, alignment, corridor and assembly.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 1,949
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 5 of 10 (81 Views)

Re: Generic Link Slope Doesn't follow Inputted Value

02-21-2014 08:18 AM in reply to: doni49

Your subassembly settings show that you have it set to use the right outside lane superelevation slope.  If your alignment has superelevation then those values will override the default 3% setting.

 

Sorry - I should have looked a little closer at your screen shot yesterday.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Mentor
Posts: 247
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 6 of 10 (77 Views)

Re: Generic Link Slope Doesn't follow Inputted Value

02-21-2014 08:22 AM in reply to: hwally

Your posted image is kind of small on my computer, but it looks like you have the subassembly set to use the superelevation value of the outside lane.  Change it to "No" and it will then use the slope value that is entered in the properties.

David Zavislan, P.E. | CAD Manager / Associate | NV5 | www.nv5.com
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-20-2014
Message 7 of 10 (74 Views)

Re: Generic Link Slope Doesn't follow Inputted Value

02-21-2014 08:53 AM in reply to: sboon

Yes that was it. I turned off the use superelevation slope and it worked with my inputed value, thanks sboon.

I built an assembly out of generic links that has one slope for the Pave and Base links (2%) and a different slope for the Subbase and Subgrade links (3%). I was expecting the links to follow my inputed slope up to a curve and then at that point switch to start using the superelevation slope, but that is obviously not how it works.

 

Any ideas on how I could apply superelevation to start transitioning at 3% for two of my links and 2% for the other two links in the same corridor?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 1,949
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 8 of 10 (67 Views)

Re: Generic Link Slope Doesn't follow Inputted Value

02-21-2014 09:24 AM in reply to: hwally

The superelevation parameters include columns for inside and outside lanes plus inside and outside shoulders.  You can use almost any one of those with your generic link to insert the values you're looking for into the corridor.  Note - you probably cannot use the wizard to calculate them properly but you could enter your own values into the outside shoulder columns and use them for your subgrade slopes.

 

It looks like you're trying to solve the same issue that I often have with non-parallel subgrade slopes.  Instead of generic links I typically use one of the shoulder subs instead of a lane sub.  The screenshot below shows a corridor widening an existing highway in a superelevated curve.  The "lane" is actually ShoulderExtendAll with the sub-base superelevation option turned off.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

 

Clipboard01.png

Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-20-2014
Message 9 of 10 (54 Views)

Re: Generic Link Slope Doesn't follow Inputted Value

02-21-2014 01:27 PM in reply to: sboon

Yes I had that same idea with trying to input different values for the superelevation of inside and outside lanes for the different generic links and it worked! Although the issue now is to come up with a generic link that can act like the ShoulderExtendAll link. And i'm thinking that's probably not possible without dabbling into the SAC.

 

I can't use the ShoulderExtendAll subassembly for this project because I need both the TOP of subbase and the bottom of subbase (subgrade) to be sloped differently than Pave and Base and that subasseby only lets you change the very bottom layer's slope.

 

If anyone has any ideas on how to build a generic link that targets the sideslope subassembly I'd love to hear ideas.

 

Otherwise thanks for your help!

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 1,949
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 10 of 10 (45 Views)

Re: Generic Link Slope Doesn't follow Inputted Value

02-21-2014 08:53 PM in reply to: hwally

It can be done using LinkSlopesBetweenPoints.  The problem with this solution is that you cannot control the link or shape codes.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

 

Clipboard01.png

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs