AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 1 of 7 (282 Views)

Generating setting out (stakeout) points from an alignment or surface

282 Views, 6 Replies
08-13-2013 04:44 AM

Hi

 

Does anyone know how would I go about generating labelled points with xyz values at 5m intervals along a road alignment in Civils 3D 2014? 

 

I have had a go with the AddAlignLabels command but could not figure out how to add an elevation value to the label. Also this method seems to require manual input for each label which is not practical as I will have have around 450 points to set out. 

 

I have looked into the Stakeout Alignment Report, but this seems to require a survey database, which I don't have.

 

Surely this must be possible, I would have thought it would be fairly simple to do.

 

Any suggestions appreciated.

 

Max

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 1,885
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 7 (263 Views)

Re: Generating setting out (stakeout) points from an alignment or surface

08-13-2013 05:42 AM in reply to: HOP-Civils-Team

If you have an Existing Ground and Finished Ground profile the Profile "Incremental Station Elevation Difference Report" can quickly create what your looking for. There will be a few columns to delete but X,Y,Z for the specified stationing interval along alignment will be included. Note the output file type can be changed by clicking on the "save report to" folder.

Jay

C3D 2012 SP3 & C3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 3 of 7 (253 Views)

Re: Generating setting out (stakeout) points from an alignment or surface

08-13-2013 05:59 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Thanks for the suggestion, I'll give it a go.

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,610
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 4 of 7 (242 Views)

Re: Generating setting out (stakeout) points from an alignment or surface

08-13-2013 07:58 AM in reply to: HOP-Civils-Team

I am not sure exactly what you are doing with the 5m intervals.  If using an RTK GPS instrument, load the data collector with the SURFACE (Tin) and stake to the Tin.  Any where you set the rod down will give you a cut or fill.

 

 

Bill

 

Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-09-2012
Message 5 of 7 (186 Views)

Re: Generating setting out (stakeout) points from an alignment or surface

12-03-2013 08:41 AM in reply to: HOP-Civils-Team

I'm trying to do the same thing as HOP-Civils-Team but I don't have a surface.  I'm going to take the grade shots AFTER I stakeout the trail but I need an easy way to generate points for my alignmnet first.

 

Thanks

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 234
Registered: ‎10-13-2009
Message 6 of 7 (177 Views)

Re: Generating setting out (stakeout) points from an alignment or surface

12-03-2013 12:08 PM in reply to: HOP-Civils-Team
Your going about this the wrong way...unless your trying to satisfy some outdated agency or contract requirement. If you have an alignment and a profile in Civil3d just export the data to a landxml file, upload it to your data collector and you have everything you need to stake any part of the 'road'. This assumes everything is built correctly in Civil3d. We do a lot of road staking and never ever generate stakeout points. If you must create points you will need to use the create points from corridor option. While this option requires many other facets of your project to be setup properly, it does allow you to create points at elevation at almost any point imaginable.
Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-09-2012
Message 7 of 7 (162 Views)

Re: Generating setting out (stakeout) points from an alignment or surface

12-04-2013 06:52 AM in reply to: mikehathaway2942
 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs