AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
chris.mckinzie
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-12-2007
Message 1 of 3 (167 Views)

General question about creating a site plan

167 Views, 2 Replies
10-14-2012 07:30 AM

I have a question about what software would be best to use in creating a site plan.  We are looking at doing this for my company's campus headquarters.  We have about 300 acres and 20 or so buildings so I'm not looking at creating an entire city, just our site and maybe a little bit of the surrounding area.  Initially we are just looking for a 3D graphical representation of the campus.  We currently have 2D plans of the general campus layout and buildings.  Down the road we could be asked to start tracking underground utilities and such (we currently have GPS coordinates for all underground utilities).  I would like something that has a pretty good photorealistic look because some upper management may see this.

 

Based on my research, it appears that there are at least three different softwares that may be good candidates.  Civil 3D, Map 3D, and Infrastructure Modeler.  We currently have Infrastructure Modeler, but not Civil 3D or Map 3D.  I started the process in Infrastructure Modeler, but am just wondering if it is the best option.  It seems a little bit limited to me.  Maybe I just don't know it well enough yet.

 

Any suggestions?

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,756
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 3 (148 Views)

Re: General question about creating a site plan

10-14-2012 04:37 PM in reply to: chris.mckinzie

It sounds to me like you are more interested in A rendering  application than a design package that steamlines and dynamically coordinates the drafted annotation. I no nothing about rendering although I know c3d can do it but Im more impressed with the design tools than the pretty picture

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 759
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 3 of 3 (142 Views)

Re: General question about creating a site plan

10-14-2012 07:15 PM in reply to: chris.mckinzie

With Autodesk software, from my experience, I would think Map 3d and Infrastructure modeler in tandem would be the way to go, unless you have an existing GIS software to work with you utility information.

 

Map 3d is good with GIS and can also be used to draw up your building plans, (you might struggle getting the 3d part out of it, but infrastructure modeller is able to create 3d objects from 2d GIS information), although they won't be in a building format that infrastructure modeller will recognise, as far as I know.

 

Have a look at some of the videos on map and infrastructure modeller to see how they can be used.

 

There may be other software out there that would suit your needs, but I think this is what will work if you go with autodesk.

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs