AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Larry Bettes
Message 1 of 49 (905 Views)

Feature line linetype generation

905 Views, 48 Replies
10-13-2006 04:00 PM
Anyone know if they have addressed the issue of being able to generate
feature lines as a continuous linetype, like when you turn on linetype
generation in a polyline? I can't find it anywhere and I would have thought
this should have been addressed by now! Real basic need for plan creation!

--
Larry Bettes
ADT, C3D & LDT/CD
(all 2007 with all SPs installed)
P4 - Dual Core 3.0 GHz, 3.00 GB RAM
nVidia GeForce 6800 GS AGP - 256 MB
Windows XP Pro, SP 2
*Larry Bettes
Message 2 of 49 (905 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

10-16-2006 08:27 AM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
As clarification, I am referring to the feature lines generated as part of
the corridor.

--
Larry Bettes
ADT, C3D & LDT/CD
(all 2007 with all SPs installed)
P4 - Dual Core 3.0 GHz, 3.00 GB RAM
nVidia GeForce 6800 GS AGP - 256 MB
Windows XP Pro, SP 2


"Larry Bettes" wrote in message
news:5361651@discussion.autodesk.com...
Anyone know if they have addressed the issue of being able to generate
feature lines as a continuous linetype, like when you turn on linetype
generation in a polyline? I can't find it anywhere and I would have thought
this should have been addressed by now! Real basic need for plan creation!

--
Larry Bettes
ADT, C3D & LDT/CD
(all 2007 with all SPs installed)
P4 - Dual Core 3.0 GHz, 3.00 GB RAM
nVidia GeForce 6800 GS AGP - 256 MB
Windows XP Pro, SP 2
Contributor
timstalin
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-09-2006
Message 3 of 49 (905 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

03-31-2007 11:28 PM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
I just thought I'd bump this old thread to see if this might have been implemented in 2008. Having corridors draw virtually all your production linework would be a huge asset.

I suppose it's possible currently if you don't require specific linetypes and can get away with differing thicknesses and plot styles.
Employee
dana.probert
Posts: 1,261
Registered: ‎04-19-2006
Message 4 of 49 (905 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

04-01-2007 07:48 AM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
i am pretty sure i did a 2008 rendering and noticed that my feature lines in the corridor weren't all continuous. if i have a chance i will open that dwg and see wassup
Dana Probert, P.E.
Technical Marketing Manager, Civil Engineering
Autodesk
Blog: BIM on the Rocks
Learn More About BIM for Infrastructure
Employee
dana.probert
Posts: 1,261
Registered: ‎04-19-2006
Message 5 of 49 (905 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

04-01-2007 07:57 AM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
ok, i went in to the dwg. these are all feature lines that are still embedded into the corridor. i just changed the C-TOPO-FEAT layer to HIDDEN.

is this what you are looking for? Message was edited by: Dana Breig Probert
Dana Probert, P.E.
Technical Marketing Manager, Civil Engineering
Autodesk
Blog: BIM on the Rocks
Learn More About BIM for Infrastructure
Contributor
timstalin
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-09-2006
Message 6 of 49 (905 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

04-01-2007 09:21 AM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
Thanks Dana,

It looks like it's the same as previous versions. I suppose if you keep the linetype spacing very tight and the corridor frequency far apart, the linetype won't be destroyed by the continuous vertexes. But it is still very noticeable where you tighten up the frequencies for curves. See attached (The left is 2D polylines (extracted from the corridor) with linetype generation enabled and the right is the original corridor).

Is there any chance that there's a hidden toggle to turn on linetype generation for feature lines?
Distinguished Contributor
jwedding
Posts: 1,513
Registered: ‎08-14-2006
Message 7 of 49 (905 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

04-01-2007 11:26 AM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
I would guess the reason this hasn't been addressed is that many people
consider the feature lines too tessellated for suitable linework,
dimensioning etc. Yours look good though, I'd guess it will be on the wish
list for 2009.

--
James Wedding, P.E.
Engineered Efficiency, Inc.
Civil 3D 2007
XP Tablet, SP2, 2GHz, 2G
www.eng-eff.com
www.civil3d.com
*Larry Bettes
Message 8 of 49 (906 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

04-02-2007 10:41 AM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
Tim,

This was and is my exact issue. It seems a little ridiculous that I have to
redraw (export) all of the feature lines of my corridors when they are
already there for me, just not with a continuously generated linetype!

--
Larry Bettes
ADT, C3D & LDT/CD
(all 2007 with all SPs installed)
P4 - Dual Core 3.0 GHz, 3.00 GB RAM
nVidia GeForce 6800 GS AGP - 256 MB
Windows XP Pro, SP 2


wrote in message news:5537804@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks Dana,

It looks like it's the same as previous versions. I suppose if you keep the
linetype spacing very tight and the corridor frequency far apart, the
linetype won't be destroyed by the continuous vertexes. But it is still
very noticeable where you tighten up the frequencies for curves. See
attached (The left is 2D polylines (extracted from the corridor) with
linetype generation enabled and the right is the original corridor).

Is there any chance that there's a hidden toggl
e to turn on linetype generation for feature lines?
*Larry Bettes
Message 9 of 49 (906 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

04-02-2007 10:41 AM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
Tim,

This was and is my exact issue. It seems a little ridiculous that I have to
redraw (export) all of the feature lines of my corridors when they are
already there for me, just not with a continuously generated linetype!

--
Larry Bettes
ADT, C3D & LDT/CD
(all 2007 with all SPs installed)
P4 - Dual Core 3.0 GHz, 3.00 GB RAM
nVidia GeForce 6800 GS AGP - 256 MB
Windows XP Pro, SP 2


wrote in message news:5537804@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks Dana,

It looks like it's the same as previous versions. I suppose if you keep the
linetype spacing very tight and the corridor frequency far apart, the
linetype won't be destroyed by the continuous vertexes. But it is still
very noticeable where you tighten up the frequencies for curves. See
attached (The left is 2D polylines (extracted from the corridor) with
linetype generation enabled and the right is the original corridor).

Is there any chance that there's a hidden toggl
e to turn on linetype generation for feature lines?
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 10 of 49 (906 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

04-03-2007 12:45 PM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
Not being able to turn on linetype generation for Survey Figures has been driving us crazy. The fencelines in particular look terrible in all our design surveys.

The other problem is not being able to turn on linetype generation in a Profile View, so that the Existing Ground surface shows up as a nice, even dashed line.
Sinc

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs