AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Jeff Mishler
Message 11 of 49 (864 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

04-03-2007 01:40 PM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
Just a thought here, 3DPoly's do not have linetype generation, either. Since
Figures & Featurelines are 3D do they get their base class from the Acad
3DPoly thereby making it difficult, at best, to add the LTGen?

My Existing Ground profiles look almost exactly how I'd want them. I sure
think that LTGen is enabled on them. You mean to say yours don't look like
this?

Jeff


wrote in message news:5540347@discussion.autodesk.com...
Not being able to turn on linetype generation for Survey Figures has been
driving us crazy. The fencelines in particular look terrible in all our
design surveys.

The other problem is not being able to turn on linetype generation in a
Profile View, so that the Existing Ground surface shows up as a nice, even
dashed line.
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 12 of 49 (864 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

04-04-2007 08:47 AM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
???

This is something that's only come up once or twice for us so far. I think I found the project where we were trying to create an EG profile, and we kept getting no linetype generation. But I had absolutely no problem this time... I was able to get linetype generation either by changing the linetype in the Profile Style, or by setting it to ByLayer and using the EG Profile layer. Both worked just fine.

Maybe I was having one of those transient problems that solve themselves when C3D is killed and restarted...?
Sinc
Distinguished Contributor
acoursen
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎10-07-2003
Message 13 of 49 (864 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

04-04-2007 09:22 AM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
I've found that the ltgen for an existing profile is fine when the profile is dynamic, but loses it when it is static.

Andy
Andrew Coursen PE & LS
Distinguished Contributor
sakka252
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
Message 14 of 49 (864 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

03-08-2010 08:12 AM in reply to: *Larry Bettes
Has there been a solution yet. This is a major problem, as others have stated, with survey figures.
Mentor
mikehathaway2942
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎10-13-2009
Message 15 of 49 (736 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

06-03-2011 01:35 PM in reply to: sakka252

We ran into this again today using Civil3d 2010.  Anyone using 2011 or 2012 chime in to let us know if this has been fixed?  In the meantime I guess I will just have to explode my fence so i can actually see the fence linetype.

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 16 of 49 (716 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

06-04-2011 05:13 AM in reply to: mikehathaway2942

In 2011 the linetype generation issue is still a problem with feature lines and survey figures. The linetypes show as you'd expect (without line type generation) but no linetype continuation around corners. 2012 is the same.

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 17 of 49 (713 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

06-04-2011 07:33 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Well, in Autodesk's defense, the first post in this thread was in 2006, so it's not like they've had much time to work on this problem...  :smileywink:

Sinc
Mentor
ArchD
Posts: 312
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 18 of 49 (425 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 07:27 AM in reply to: *Jeff Mishler

I hate this problem. I have it also.

 

I do know of a solution, but it's limited. If you convert your drawings into Style Based pen settings and set a style to be dashed (or whatever linetype you need), it will show feature lines, as well as 3D Polylines as dashed through corners when printed/previewed. Sadly, the amount of linetypes you can assign to a style are pretty limited. It seems that you can't use linetypes from a custom linetype file, only works with default linetypes.

 

Another problem we have is that so many people are so bent on Color Based pen settings that they have no clue on what to do when they come across Style Based drawings. For convienence, we stick with color based, even though I would rather convert to style based, but problems like this in color based drawings drive me crazy. I sure wish AutoDesk would add this feature to 3D polylines and Feature lines.

Archie Dodge

Civil 3D 2013
Windows 7 64-bit
Xeon W3550 3.07 GHz
Nvidia Quadro 4000
12.0 GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,211
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 19 of 49 (422 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 07:35 AM in reply to: ArchD

ArchD wrote:

I hate this problem. I have it also.

 

... I sure wish AutoDesk would add this feature to 3D polylines and Feature lines.



See the first bullet point HERE

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
ArchD
Posts: 312
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 20 of 49 (417 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 07:54 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

That's awesome! Does this apply to 3D polyline objects?

 

Sad part is we just talked our parent company to release 2012 licenses to us just a few weeks ago. I'll have to wait another year it seems before I get this superb new feature.

Archie Dodge

Civil 3D 2013
Windows 7 64-bit
Xeon W3550 3.07 GHz
Nvidia Quadro 4000
12.0 GB RAM

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs