AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
brburklund
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-17-2008
Message 1 of 6 (470 Views)

Feature line grading object problem

470 Views, 5 Replies
11-03-2011 09:15 AM

We have what seems to be a simple task.  

 

We have a feauture line that we are creating a 4:1 cut/fill grading object (and new surface)  to an existing surface.

 

When we create the grading object, we have a segment along the feature line that has no grading or grading surface created.  

 

When we create the grading, the feature line then has "intermediate" grades created at the place where no grading occurs.

 

We have tried moving the feature line to its own Site with the grading object.  We have made sure that the feature line has no intermediate grades prior to grading.  When we create the grading, the intermediate grades show up on the feature line and the grading is "gapped" around the intermediate points.

 

Any suggestions to fix this "gap"?

 

Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,537
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 6 (469 Views)

Re: Feature line grading object problem

11-03-2011 09:28 AM in reply to: brburklund

Are you answering Yes when it asks to apply to entire length? If so, answer no and pick the start and end of the ranges manually. Does this fix your problem?

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Contributor
brburklund
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-17-2008
Message 3 of 6 (462 Views)

Re: Feature line grading object problem

11-03-2011 10:17 AM in reply to: tcorey

Thanks for the reply.  I tried manually selecting the length and it didn't work.  I also tried manually picking only the problem area and it wont grade that area.  It is in an area of fill and it won't grade fill up to the existing grade.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 4 of 6 (458 Views)

Re: Feature line grading object problem

11-03-2011 10:43 AM in reply to: brburklund

Feature lines can be finiky.

Try drawing a new one, snapping to the one you have, and try grading from the new one...see if that helps.  No idea why it would, just what I would do.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,874
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 6 (447 Views)

Re: Feature line grading object problem

11-03-2011 12:22 PM in reply to: brburklund

was the feature line created from a polyline? If so, the pline may have contained pseudo nodes that could be gumming things up

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,244
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 6 (443 Views)

Re: Feature line grading object problem

11-03-2011 12:28 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Make sure the grading parameters are such that the grading intercepts the terrain in that area. It may be that you have inadvertently applied a very flat slope or the elevations are far off the terrain so that it can't find a solution.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.