Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FBK from RAW and duplicate points

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
troot
1276 Views, 7 Replies

FBK from RAW and duplicate points

Hi Im new around here and have a problem we can't figure out.

I am a surveyor who wants/needs to perform survey adjustments on our data and from what I can tell this will require us to use FBK files generated from our TDS RAW files.  Easy enough, but I am running into problems during import because when our field crews shoot a bad point or need to fix a point code they will overwrite the "bad" point with the "fixed" one. 

when I go to import the points via FBK apparently the system doesn't realize these points were overwritten and I get duplicate point errors.  This in itself isn't that big a deal except that I am only given the option to ignore the duplicate point (no overwrite, renumber or anything) which leaves me with a bunch of bad points, bad codes, etc.  Sifting through the fbk to find the problems has proven dificult and time consuming.

Is there any way around this problem?  we can bring our RAW files into other software (Carlson Survey, Trimble Business Center specifically) and everything works fine but we would rather not use extra software just to do survey adjustments, which C3D seems apparently capable of.

thanks for your time!

Troy

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
NeillBoyle
in reply to: troot

I can't help with the duplicate points but maybe as a fellow surveyor you could help with my .fbk problem?

I'm using the new Survey Pro 5.2 (survey slow) and have not been able to convert .raw to .fbk.

I did try the .xml file but onlt the points can in.

I'm running Civil 3D 2010.

Thanks

Neill B

Message 3 of 8
troot
in reply to: NeillBoyle